Slow Cooker Sweet and Sour Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
YUMMM A lot of sauce but other than that real great over rice!!! probably going to make it again today as I just got a great deal on turkey kielbasa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
GREAT recipe!! I could gobble it all up :) I browned the Kielbasa then I did as the recipe said and saute the onions and I added bell pepper. I mixed a bottle of bbq sauce and cut the ketchup down to a cup, and then added the other ingredients and poured over the Kielbasa in the Crock. I also added a can of chunk pineapple partly drained. cooked on Low for 5hrs and served over rice!! soooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorCal*Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
As suggested by another reviewer, I made this as a main dish, added green pepper near the end, and served over rice. It was just ok... I would not eat it like this again. It would be much better served as an appetizer. If I made ti again, I'd probably use little smokies rather than kielbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I doubled the meat both out of that is what was needed to feed my family & most recommended by other reviewers. I also went ahead & browned it up a bit to avoid the extra grease you can get from sauce cooking down in a crock pot. I caramelized my onions in the brown sugar & butter then mix the rest of the ingredients just to heat it up but added as others recommended some pineapple & peppers. Then just poured it all in over the meat & let it go on low for about 5 hours or so & YUMMY! Oh & yes I do not ever use ketchup in a recipe like this. I added a real nice tomato sauce until I got the consistency I liked. We served it over a nice jasmine rice & a VERY picky family of 5 gave it 2 thumbs up & 10 stars if they could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
very good recipe, the longer it cooks the more flavorable the meat is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracybakke
Home Town: Badger, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I did mess this up with the vingar I used white but it came out great was a hit , I put the left over in the freezer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vermontsnowkitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
i used a 15 ounce bottle of tabasco flavored ketchup, half the amount of brown sugar, half the amount of onion, only 2 tablespoons of the cider vinegar, added some jalapenos, used 2lbs of the little smoked sausages, and kept everything else the same. took this dish to a bbq at a friends and it was a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
The sauce on this is a little too sweet and not enough sour for our family. The kielbasa didn't work for us, either. Next time, I'm reducing the brown sugar by 1/4 cup and increasing slightly the vinegar, spicy mustard and Worcestershire. I'm also going to brown up some meatballs made of ground pork, panko, salt and pepper to put in it instead of the kielbasa. The kielbasa ended up a little too smoky and overcooked tasting for the sauce to us. Some pork meatballs (or even ground turkey) will be a welcome change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
10 stars! wow my whole family loved this! I actually made it for a work 'pot luck' and it went over very well, but after everyone at home smelled it cooking for hours I had to let them sample it, and we really loved it! I didn't alter it too much, I did add a 2nd kielbasa as many reviews recommended and there was still a lot of 'sauce', and I also added a 20oz can of pineapple chunks. With the confusion of the ketup amount I went with the 14oz, plenty! We'll be making this from time to time (just worried how much my husband loves it because he's diet-controlled diabetic).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Amazing! I added pineapple and orange peppers. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States