Slow Cooker Sweet and Sour Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Naima Ruchel
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I tweaked the recipe a bit. Instead of using barbecue sauce I actually used sweet and sour sauce being that this is supposed to be sweet and sour chicken, made more sense. I also used garlic powder instead of minced garlic and it came out perfect! Served with rice, it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naima Ruchel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carla nation
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
A little to watery and tomato-ey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I bought chili sauce from the Asian isle and it wastoo ho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanna Nyquist

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Really easy to make and my family enjoyed it. First time making it and my they all thought I made it before. Maybe next time I'll marinate it for a few hours so the chicken will get more flavor when it's in the slow cooker. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
One of the best recipes I've ever tried...was a little curious as to how barbecue and chili sauce would make a sweet and sour sauce, but it does. Instead of canned pineapple, I cut up an actual pineapple. I used Sweet Baby Rays hickory barbecue sauce...can't believe how easy it turned out, and how good it was
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Absolutely loved it. My entire family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Comes out great, very easy! I made it twice in one week, once for my husband and I and once for dinner with friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Ok recipe, loved the sauce!!!! Didn't care too much for the taste and texture of the chicken...it was really dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
If you want to make it a more sweet and sour chicken, omit the barbeque sauce. It is very easy to make your own. You start with Ketchup, mustard, brown sugar, low sodium soy sauce and a touch of white vinegar. I do not have exacts, as I watched my grandma make this over the years, and never got measurements. I would say start with 1c of ketchup, 1/4th cup of mustard, 1/4th cup of packed brown sugar, 1-2T of soy sauce and 1T of white vinegar. Adjust it to taste.If you want to make your sauce a little thicker, add a cornstarch slurry. Another thing to add is a small amount of the juice from the can of pineapple. If you do not want the chicken "run off" in your delicious meal, sear the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I wasn't a fan. The taste was what made the food almost inedible. Perhaps it was something I did, but I followed the directions word for word. I won't be trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States