Slow Cooker Sweet and Sour Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This is a very easy and quick meal to throw together in the slow cooker. I found it a little too sweet, but my husband thought it was wonderful. I used Sweet Baby Ray's Hickory Smoked BBQ Sauce because it's what I had, but would imagine you could control the sweetness by using a different kind of BBQ sauce. I served it over rice and would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Needless to say this was one of the most delicious meals I've had involving chicken. Having never used a slow cooker before, the preparation was quick and painless. For those who want more bang and less meat, I would suggest adjusting this recipe to include two of each bell peppers, and decrease the amount of sauces to 3 quarters, as there was just too much chicken, and was a little too spicy for our typical Western tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
tasted too tomato-ey to me. I decided to take pineapple juice from can of pineapple in it's own juice, with about a TBS of cornstarch and a TBS of brown sugar and make a slightly thick sauce in a sauce pan and adding to it. Family loved it. I think I might try this recipe again, with slight variation to ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This was OK. I didn't have chili sauce so I didn't put it in. I would think that by using a BBQ sauce that you liked you could make it as sweet or as spicy as you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Waaaaaay too sweet. Overwhelmingly so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Faucett, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Very tasty- however it was a bit too sweet. My husband thought it was somewhat watery. Will try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatsworth, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Too much of a barbecue taste for me. I was looking for something a little more sweet & sour not tangy bbq.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Just tried this tonight...after reading reviews decided to use Stubbs original bbq sauce, and it didn't end up too sweet. The chili sauce gave it too much heat though, and In my families' opinion took away from the other flavors. Next time I will try removing chili sauce, maybe replace with a little ketchup and a dash of soy sauce, which may make the sauce thicker. Overall, quick, easy reciepe, (great with brown rice) will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
My husband loved this dish (he's a fan of sweet foods)! I was sure to buy an original recipe BBQ sauce (nothing with extra sweetness like honey varieties) and served it over plain steamed rice. I particularly liked the color of the dish - a nice, rich, and warm. I'll definitely make this again as it was a big hit in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Linarelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Windsor, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Medicore. Chicken had a funny color to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States