Slow Cooker Sweet and Sour Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Too much of a barbecue taste for me. I was looking for something a little more sweet & sour not tangy bbq.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This recipe was good but just a little too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Just tried this tonight...after reading reviews decided to use Stubbs original bbq sauce, and it didn't end up too sweet. The chili sauce gave it too much heat though, and In my families' opinion took away from the other flavors. Next time I will try removing chili sauce, maybe replace with a little ketchup and a dash of soy sauce, which may make the sauce thicker. Overall, quick, easy reciepe, (great with brown rice) will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Weed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
It's really more of a teriyaki chicken. My family ate it but when asked if the recipe was a keeper, they said to scratch it. We'll try another Sweet & Sour or Orange Chicken recipe next time. Not so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynee`

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
My husband loved this dish (he's a fan of sweet foods)! I was sure to buy an original recipe BBQ sauce (nothing with extra sweetness like honey varieties) and served it over plain steamed rice. I particularly liked the color of the dish - a nice, rich, and warm. I'll definitely make this again as it was a big hit in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Linarelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Windsor, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
My family loved it, and it was very easy to put together. One of the best chicken recipes ever. The sweetness depends on the bar-b-que sauce; some are sweeter than others. I used Sweet Baby Ray's. AnnaLouise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
My husband loved this- I liked it, but it is very rich so a little goes a long way. I made it just as recipe - my husband wants it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA
Living In: Newton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I used sweet baby ray's steakhouse bbq, and my boyfriend does not like pineapples, so I just used the juice! Turned out pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I'm a garlic lover but the 2 tbs of minced garlic is way too overpowering for me. I didn't add the chili sauce so maybe that would've worked better with it...I don't know. Right now I'm forcing myself to eat it. Obviously, my own personal tastes because others liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Medicore. Chicken had a funny color to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States