Slow Cooker Sweet and Sour Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I wasn't a fan. The taste was what made the food almost inedible. Perhaps it was something I did, but I followed the directions word for word. I won't be trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
The flavor was good, but I was disappointed that my sauce didn't thicken and I even added cornstarch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Made it thinking "great slow cooker recipes, they always taste......mmeehhh".............I WAS WRONG. the whole family absolutely loved it. Will make over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
My husband made this today and I LOVED it. He used MC Masterpiece BBQ sauce( after reading some of the reviews.) He shredded the chicken after 4-5 hours in crock pot at low setting. and added a second 8 oz can crushed pineapples. Tends to be watery, so he mixed 1 Tbls of brown sugar and 1 Tbls of corn starch with some pineapple juice from can and added to thicken. YUM YUM. Served on brown rice. I give it a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Tried this twice, changing a few things and it was still too sweet. Wasn't a huge favorite with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
In the beginning I added 1 sliced carrot and omitted the chili sauce. It looked like it might get dried out by the end of the day so I added 1/2 c water & I was glad I did. (8 hrs on low made the veggies a bit mushy tho.) When it was done I thought it needed more chunks so I lightly cooked a zucchini, diced, and added it to the mix and it is wonderful! I also added a few more pineapple chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I thought it wasn't quite sour enough for me, though my daughter loved it. Really easy to prepare though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
The recipe calls for WAY TOOO MUCH CHILI SAUCE. The meal was too hot for my family to eat. I had a bowl with rice and the chili sauce overpowered everything. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Meh-I've had better. It was very bland. Not enough sweet and sour. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
It was to much sauce for me and my family. I did have to modify it, the next time I will use the leftover pineapple juice and cut the rest of the liquids in half. I am also going to try adding my chicken from frozen instead because this time my chicken was overcooked. other then that...this is a great easy, easy dish to make during the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States