Slow Cooker Sweet and Sour Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This is a very easy and quick meal to throw together in the slow cooker. I found it a little too sweet, but my husband thought it was wonderful. I used Sweet Baby Ray's Hickory Smoked BBQ Sauce because it's what I had, but would imagine you could control the sweetness by using a different kind of BBQ sauce. I served it over rice and would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Needless to say this was one of the most delicious meals I've had involving chicken. Having never used a slow cooker before, the preparation was quick and painless. For those who want more bang and less meat, I would suggest adjusting this recipe to include two of each bell peppers, and decrease the amount of sauces to 3 quarters, as there was just too much chicken, and was a little too spicy for our typical Western tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
tasted too tomato-ey to me. I decided to take pineapple juice from can of pineapple in it's own juice, with about a TBS of cornstarch and a TBS of brown sugar and make a slightly thick sauce in a sauce pan and adding to it. Family loved it. I think I might try this recipe again, with slight variation to ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Very tasty- however it was a bit too sweet. My husband thought it was somewhat watery. Will try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatsworth, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Waaaaaay too sweet. Overwhelmingly so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Faucett, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
This was good. Not great. just a tad too spicy for me. Most people would say it wasn't spicy at all, but for me it was. I will make it again, got to leave out the chili sauce I think. I don't know, any suggestions to make it less "spicy"?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Cayton

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This was OK. I didn't have chili sauce so I didn't put it in. I would think that by using a BBQ sauce that you liked you could make it as sweet or as spicy as you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Medicore. Chicken had a funny color to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I'm a garlic lover but the 2 tbs of minced garlic is way too overpowering for me. I didn't add the chili sauce so maybe that would've worked better with it...I don't know. Right now I'm forcing myself to eat it. Obviously, my own personal tastes because others liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I used sweet baby ray's steakhouse bbq, and my boyfriend does not like pineapples, so I just used the juice! Turned out pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States