Slow Cooker Sweet and Sour Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Comes out great, very easy! I made it twice in one week, once for my husband and I and once for dinner with friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Ok recipe, loved the sauce!!!! Didn't care too much for the taste and texture of the chicken...it was really dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
If you want to make it a more sweet and sour chicken, omit the barbeque sauce. It is very easy to make your own. You start with Ketchup, mustard, brown sugar, low sodium soy sauce and a touch of white vinegar. I do not have exacts, as I watched my grandma make this over the years, and never got measurements. I would say start with 1c of ketchup, 1/4th cup of mustard, 1/4th cup of packed brown sugar, 1-2T of soy sauce and 1T of white vinegar. Adjust it to taste.If you want to make your sauce a little thicker, add a cornstarch slurry. Another thing to add is a small amount of the juice from the can of pineapple. If you do not want the chicken "run off" in your delicious meal, sear the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by virginiaroseline

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I wasn't a fan. The taste was what made the food almost inedible. Perhaps it was something I did, but I followed the directions word for word. I won't be trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
The flavor was good, but I was disappointed that my sauce didn't thicken and I even added cornstarch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Made it thinking "great slow cooker recipes, they always taste......mmeehhh".............I WAS WRONG. the whole family absolutely loved it. Will make over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
My husband made this today and I LOVED it. He used MC Masterpiece BBQ sauce( after reading some of the reviews.) He shredded the chicken after 4-5 hours in crock pot at low setting. and added a second 8 oz can crushed pineapples. Tends to be watery, so he mixed 1 Tbls of brown sugar and 1 Tbls of corn starch with some pineapple juice from can and added to thicken. YUM YUM. Served on brown rice. I give it a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Tried this twice, changing a few things and it was still too sweet. Wasn't a huge favorite with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
In the beginning I added 1 sliced carrot and omitted the chili sauce. It looked like it might get dried out by the end of the day so I added 1/2 c water & I was glad I did. (8 hrs on low made the veggies a bit mushy tho.) When it was done I thought it needed more chunks so I lightly cooked a zucchini, diced, and added it to the mix and it is wonderful! I also added a few more pineapple chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I thought it wasn't quite sour enough for me, though my daughter loved it. Really easy to prepare though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States