Slow Cooker Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
Excellent recipe. Using slow cooker at holidays frees up oven space & your attention span, e.g., one less item to stir/worry about. Used canned sweet potatoes/yams, left out nuts, cut back on butter a little. Everyone enjoyed, even children. Have also made a few days ahead & either reheated in micro or bought to friends as a side dish. If anything, reheating a few days late enhances flavor. Orange juice gives a nice clean undertone flavor to a very simple, easy dish. Unless you're a purist or hate the taste of canned veggies, use the canned yams/potatoes. I've used fresh baked & canned. The slight difference the fresh baked makes is not worth the extra time,effort or trouble in my opinion & I'm a bit biased towards using fresh items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
Made on xmas eve. Xmas day put on high for one hour, low for two. Used reynolds liners. wonderful!!! wasn't dry. no burnt sides. Always double topping recipe. Company enjoyed sweets and I was able to enjoy my company. Try the liners they work great. Not just for cleaning, but to keep your potatoes from drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
I used 3 large "real" sweet potatoes, cubed, boiled and mashed, instead of the canned and the flavor was great, but I think the consistency was a little too thin, so I think that 4 large sweet potatoes would have done better. Very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Killingworth, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
I really enjoyed this recipe! I made it for Thanksgiving, and liked how I could make this in my slowcooker, which left my oven free for cooking other dishes. I did modify the recipe by using baked, then mashed, sweet potatoes (instead of canned). I think that gave me a little less sugar taste, too. The only thing I would alter is the amount of butter; it seemed to be a tad to buttery for my taste. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This is my favorite. I make it every chance I get. I double the nut/brown sugar and layer it in the crock pot. I take away a little bit of the milk and add extra orange juice instead. I also add marshmellows to the top the last 15 minutes of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
This was a big hit at the company potluck. I gave it a 4 which means it was really good and would make again. 5's are reserved for a select few that are just to die for. I did make a few changes. I converted to 12 servings. I only added 1/2 the oj and then added about 1 tsp vanilla. For the topping I subsituted quick oats for the pecans. I layered as other posters said, and then the last 30 minutes of cooking added mini marshmellows. So yummy!! Also I cooked on high for 1 1/2 hrs and then on low for an additional 2 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HLKane

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
My mother and I have been searching for a recipe to replace the sweet potatoes that my grandmother made (we can never duplicate her recipe to our liking, she was the wiz). This recipe seems to be it - it was VERY delicious. I have a very, very large Westbend slow cooker, so I doubled the topping as one batch wouldn't have reached all potatoes as they spread out (it was worth it, every bite came with the nice sweet topping). I also used the 2T of butter for the potatoes and the topping (silly me, I didn't even notice the teaspoon mistake), skipped the pecans, and made it with fresh potatoes, although with the review below I am tempted to try canned (yuck? I'm VERY anti-canned fruits/veggies, they should be banned). Make this with confidence, it's a guaranteed hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mulva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
This recipe is absolutely the BOMB!! What a timesaver, using canned sweet potatoes. Taste just as good as fresh! The one thing I did differently was cook on High for 1 hour, then on low for the remaining 2 hours. Otherwise, you'll end up with a crusty top and side. Be sure to add Marshmallows the last 30 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
This is a wonderful recipe. But I can never manage to follow a recipe all the way through, because I like to make the recipe my own. I doubled the recipe and put in only 1/2 cup milk so that I could add 1/4 cup of Bourbon. YUMMY!!! Then double or TRIPLE the topping and add marshmallows and cinnamon. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
I served this recipe for Thankgiving this year and I would have to say that we all enjoyed it. I only made one change and that was to add 1 and one half cups of mini marshmallows. Also I noticed that in the list of ingredients it mentions 2 tablespoons of butter in the potatoe mix and 2 teaspoons of butter for the topping, while in the directions it says 2 tablespoons of melted butter for the topping. I did use 2 tablespoons in both the potatoe mix and in the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States