Slow Cooker Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Made w/only 2 minor changes and we loved it! I doubled the topping recipe and I cut back on the butter just a little in the main recipe. It's a little soupy, but the taste is great. It was nice to do in the slow cooker for Thanksgiving instead of juggling everything around in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I lost my old recipe for sweet potato casserole, and this one is now my new favorite. Admittedly, I do often change the recipe slightly, but not because of any fault in the original. My changes: I omit the orange juice and instead add a layer of canned manderin oranges between the middle of the sweet potato mash; I sometimes increase the brown sugar and pecans a little; I bake it in a casserole dish for 40 mins. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This was pretty good, but I added an extra can of yams and used all brown sugar verses white for the entire recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pjollimore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I only used this recipe because I knew there would be no room in the oven on Thanksgiving for anything else to go in. I made it AS IT WAS WRITTEN and the only thing I did different was to double the topping part. Everyone RAVED at how good this was including myself! My Mother swears it is the best sweet potato casserole she has ever tasted and I believe she is right! I will never bake one in the oven again. This was not a dessert tasting casserole like so many are, it was perfect! I used a crock pot liner for the very 1st time with this and clean up was a breeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was so delicious, I made this specifically for my dad for thanksgiving. Not only was he appreciatative for it. The whole family loved it. We had no idea that yams could taste this good. I boiled and mashed the yams, I did this because for so many years we disliked the syrup from the canned yams. I also doubled the topping and added 1/2 cup of pecans. I can't wait for to taste the left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Delicious and so easy to make. I added some pumpkin pie spice, but other than that I stuck with the recipe. A big hit at our family Thanksgiving dinner. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe!! I have been using it for many years now, so I figured it was about time I reviewed it. I make this practically every holiday, and everyone always loves it. The only change I make is I double the topping, that's all. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This was SOOOOO easy and it tasted wonderful! A big hit at the office Thanksgiving lunch. We have no oven at the office, so we love these slow cooker recipes. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
MmmmmMmmM this was sooo good and I don't even like sweet potatos! Throw a layer of mini marshmellows on top before serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraLu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Homer Glen, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Very good & super-easy. Good for a holiday potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States