Slow Cooker Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This was an excellent dish! I used canned sweet potatoes, and boiled them as directed on the can before I used them in this recipe. I added a can of crushed pineapple to the sweet potatoes; also I doubled the topping. It was a hit on Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doodles

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Great recipe. It was so nice to use my crock pot instead of taking up room in the oven for my holiday sweet potatoes. This recipe is not too sweet which was perfect to go with the rest of the meal. It turned out exactly as I hoped with a little crunch on top thanks to the pecans. I used my small food processor to mix the pecans, flour and sugar in the topping and it made the pecans very small which we liked. This will be a keeper and a regular at our holiday dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made this yesterday for Thanksgiving. My one 9yo son proclaimed it the best casserole ever and I lost count of how many helpings he had, and his brother likewise went back for repeated helpings. And dh's older cousins who came over raved about it as well and kept going for more. So it was a hit! The only changes were using 1/4 cup butter instead of 1/3 because some people said it was too buttery; I don't think it really made a difference, and doubling the topping, which seems standard. I cooked on high for 1 hour, and then low 2hours. It was just getting to the point where it would burn at the edges. I didn't use a liner, but just soaked the crockpot for a bit and it was easy to clean up. I was nervous to try a new recipe at a holiday meal, but so glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aepnutz
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Forgot the oj but used caned an fresh sweet potatoes due to pantry emergency, added all spice, cinnamon and vanilla extract to taste! TURNED OUT GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I took this to my company potluck and people really liked it. I thought it was delicious, but I wish the topping would have been a tad more crunchy. That's an easy fix though, next time I will just transfer the ceramic dish from the slow cooker into the oven for 20 minutes or so before serving. I doubled the topping and was glad I did, it's scrumptious! I love that you can make it way ahead of time and not use up much time (or any) in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This is now a Thanksgiving staple in our house. Not only does everyone love the taste, but the slow cooker eliminates the hassle of juggling multiple dishes in the oven and doesn't require any last-minute work. Every Thanksgiving side dish should be like this! I put pecans over only half the dish to satisfy everyone's tastes, and I think it tastes great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This was great! I added some cinnamon and vanilla and it was delicious. I got lots of compliments on this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Thanks for sharing!! Didn't have room in the oven for all that need to be in, you saved Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaMaw's Girls

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
My very picky husband request this every year for Thanksgiving (minus the pecans).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I liked this. I used 4 big SP's, cooked in the microwave. Doubled the topping like most others done. Turned out great. The only problem it didn't last long. Will try adding more spices, and add pecans to the SP mix as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States