Slow Cooker Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
Excellent recipe. Using slow cooker at holidays frees up oven space & your attention span, e.g., one less item to stir/worry about. Used canned sweet potatoes/yams, left out nuts, cut back on butter a little. Everyone enjoyed, even children. Have also made a few days ahead & either reheated in micro or bought to friends as a side dish. If anything, reheating a few days late enhances flavor. Orange juice gives a nice clean undertone flavor to a very simple, easy dish. Unless you're a purist or hate the taste of canned veggies, use the canned yams/potatoes. I've used fresh baked & canned. The slight difference the fresh baked makes is not worth the extra time,effort or trouble in my opinion & I'm a bit biased towards using fresh items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
My mother and I have been searching for a recipe to replace the sweet potatoes that my grandmother made (we can never duplicate her recipe to our liking, she was the wiz). This recipe seems to be it - it was VERY delicious. I have a very, very large Westbend slow cooker, so I doubled the topping as one batch wouldn't have reached all potatoes as they spread out (it was worth it, every bite came with the nice sweet topping). I also used the 2T of butter for the potatoes and the topping (silly me, I didn't even notice the teaspoon mistake), skipped the pecans, and made it with fresh potatoes, although with the review below I am tempted to try canned (yuck? I'm VERY anti-canned fruits/veggies, they should be banned). Make this with confidence, it's a guaranteed hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mulva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
This recipe was one of the ones I made for my son's baptism. It went wonderfully with ham also. I have since made it three more times. It doubles nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I have made this at my past few holiday dinners. This Thanksgiving I doubled the topping just because! Always loved by everyone! A holiday dinner staple in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATT103

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
This is our new Thanksgiving side dish...it rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
My family loved this recipe and I've been told to put it in 'rotation' for other holidays. I bought two large cans of potatoes and adjusted the recipe to fit. (That was my biggest challenge, making the recipe ingredients fit the amount of potatoes I bought.) The only thing I'd do differently is make more topping, which I loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
Made this for Thanksgiving and it was a big hit. I picked this recipes because I could use my crock pot and free up stove top space. Super easy to make. As suggested I doubled the topping. Even my nephews who don't normally like sweet potatoes loved it. Thanks for great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
yum!! a crowd pleaser and sooooo easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
This sounds really good. I was looking for a recipe that uses can sweet potatoes. I am going to try that for Thanksgiving which is 4 days away. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
I tried this for Thanksgiving and my family loved it! I will absolutely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States