Slow Cooker Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
This recipe is absolutely the BOMB!! What a timesaver, using canned sweet potatoes. Taste just as good as fresh! The one thing I did differently was cook on High for 1 hour, then on low for the remaining 2 hours. Otherwise, you'll end up with a crusty top and side. Be sure to add Marshmallows the last 30 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I made this with can sweet potatoes and I din't think they were anything special. I then made them with real sweet potatoes and added a little cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg. Much better with real potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving people that didn't like sweet potatoes tried this recipe and thought it was excellent. I did like others suggested and put mini marshmallows on the last 30 minutes. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Eden Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This recipe is awesome! Even family members who do not particularly care for sweet potatoes liked this! I added 1 tsp of vanilla extract to the sweet potato mixture. I also doubled the topping and added a bit of vanilla extract and cinnamon to it. This recipe is a nice change from a regular sweet potato dish. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Torymom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This is one that people eat that don't like sweet potatoes. I make this at Thanksgiving what a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Wonderful recipe!! I didn't have orange juice so I used vanilla as others suggested. I also doubled the topping mixture and layered it with the sweet potatoes. Will definatley make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This dish is always a hit when I serve it. Instead of 1/2 cup of milk I use 1/4 cup of milk and 1/4 cup of orange juice plus the tablespoon of oj that it calls for. I also put the zest of one orange in the topping. It is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlpineMt.Momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Alpine, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This was my first time to make this type of dish. It was for an office party. I increased the #servings to 20 and it was 95% gone when it was time to leave. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
I too used the low setting on the crockpot--This was very good and usually I'm not a canned veggie person. I will make more of the topping next time, and put a layer of it in the middle, so the later sevings still get some of the good stuff! Maybe a bit less butter...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
This was a HUGE hit last Thanksgiving! The adults and children LOVED it! PERFECT!! It tasted just as wonderful as the baked casseroles and simplified meal preparation and oven time for other dishes. Will use this recipe again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States