Slow Cooker Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This is similar to another recipe on here that I have been using for years....It is fabulous, and a clever way to make use of a portable cooking device. My oven is full of turkey right now, and my stuffing is nestled cozily in the crockpot. I omit mushrooms, and use tart apples in their place. I also beat the egg into cool broth and pour over the veggies and bread mixture. I NEVER stir...just put the lid on top and let it bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I have to start by saying that I come from a family who did not let a holiday pass without Stove Top stuffing. After trying this recipe out a few years ago, the boxed stuff is now a thing of the past... I never would've believed it! This is now our family's go-to stuffing recipe... delicious!! I cut an Italian bread loaf into cubes and toast them in the oven the day before. The next day I cook everything in the slowcooker, except I leave out the mushrooms (we're not fans) and some of the extra spices besides poultry seasoning & sage. I use up to 3 full cans of chicken broth (depending on how dry the bread is) and it comes out PERFECT every time! You can also prep all the veggie's the night before, so when you're busy the next day in the kitchen, this comes together so easily. If you're looking for the best & easiest stuffing recipe ever, then this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Very good! I agree it was pretty moist, and I didn't use all the broth? I just threw it in the oven and 'fluffed' it with a fork, for a bit... Otherwise; RAVE reviews for my first time, from scratch! This recipe's a keeper! I substituted apples, for the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I rated a 3 as if I made as written it would have been way too wet and would of had a 1 star. Way too much chicken broth for 12 cups of dry bread. Five star for the flavour and addition of mushrooms was great. I added additional fresh herbs as we really like a flavourful dressing. My husband said it smelled like thanksgiving when he was mixing it up. I doubled the recipe, and mixed 3 eggs and broth to about three cups for the entire batch. I did use all of the butter. My pot is pretty hot so a total of 4 hours on low and I stirred every hour and kept the lid off for the final half hour. Would leave it off longer next time just to drive off a bit more moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I love this recipe and have used it for the last two Thanksgiving. It makes your house just smell like stuffing. Yum! My only complaint is that it sometimes gets a little burned on the sides, so you really need to keep an eye on it. But if you just mix it up, it still perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrs.embee
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
In my crock I used 2 cups of broth, 1/2 cup butter, fresh herbs and omitted the marjoram. I cooked on low for 4 hours and removed the lid for the last 30 min. This is a great recipe, but you must use stale bread! I have tried this in the oven and was dissappointed; it was soggy throughout and never set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
This stuffing is phenomenal! You can easily cut the butter in half and still keep the moistness of the dish. Start with 2 cups of broth and add more if you need it (you probably won't). I also used fresh herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I have been using this receipe for the past 2 years and absolutely love it! My husband hates stuffing but loves when I make this; he eats it!!! I do cut down on the broth and add extra bread. Famly favourite! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This turned out super dry for me, but the flavor was so nice, it was still good. We just drenched it in gravy. I'll make it again and try using more liquid...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Turned out great. Mine sat a bit too long so next time will serve immediately to keep it moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Stuffing

See how to make moist stuffing in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States