Slow Cooker Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I made this for thanksgiving and it was my favorite dish of the day. SO EASY! And we all love one less thing to worry about on holidays. I used the tip from another reviewer and put a kitchen towel under the lid of the crockpot, and that help keep the stuffing from getting too wet with condensation. Great tip! Also, you definitely need to use only about half the broth at first, then tinker with it later to get your desired level of moistness. I used a honey wheat bread and a challah bread together, and I absolutely loved the combined flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I have served this stuffing at the last 3 Thanksgivings that I have hosted. Its a fantastic way to make stuffing and not take up any more stove space. I do add some sage sausage, I give the sliced mushrooms a rough chop and like the other reviews I cut the chicken broth in half. I start with just adding 2 cups, if its still really dry I add a bit more and after cooking half way I take a quick taste and maybe add more if needed. My crock pot cooks really fast so I cook it on low for 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This was a great way to make stuffing. I greatly reduced the butter (to 1/4 cup) and the broth after reading other reviews. I think I used less than half the broth. I purchased hamburger buns and let them sit out over night to dry out. I used more than the recipe called for (about an extra 1-2 cups). I used canned mushrooms and diced them small. I cooked all of the vegetables in butter (less than the recipe called for) and a bit of olive oil. I used fresh rosemary instead of marjoram. The flavor was really good and so was the texture. I cooked it for about 5 hours in the crockpot and stirred it every hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Miller Motley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This was delicious AND convenient!! A warning to others, though--make sure to turn the crockpot off when you begin serving--amidst all the excitement of Thanksgiving Dinner, we left the cooker on, and the bottom 1/4 cooked into a hard mass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elinor Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This recipe is good but I'm very glad I read some of the other reviews. I like stuffing to be moist and 2 1/2 - 3 cups of liquid was just right for me. I cooked on high for the first 45 mins and turned to low for 5 hours, stirring once after 2-3 hours. It seemed overcooked to me. I think next time I'll do 30 mins on high and 3 hours on low. I think with some changes this could be a 4 star recipe. I'm only giving it a 3 as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This was the hit of the Thanksgiving feast. So easy and freed up oven space. Perfect for the Vegetarians at my table. This will be a regular addition to Thanksgiving from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shar

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
After reading all the negative reviews on here referring to the amount of broth, I had to post. I used two bags (which totalled 12 cups) store-bought stuffing -- one cubed white bread and one almost-powdered cornbread. Even though the stuffing was pre-seasoned, I used the same amount of spices that the recipe called for. I omitted the mushrooms, because we don't care for them. I used 5 cups broth, dumped in all at the beginning. I used a 5 qt. crockpot with a crockpot bag to avoid a messy clean up, and put a paper towel on top of the crockpot under the lid. I opened the crockpot twice while cooking it on low for 6 hrs., but did not stir. A few minutes before serving, I ladled about 3/4 cup turkey drippings onto the top of the stuffing while still in the crockpot. Guests served themselves from the crockpot, and I got nothing but wonderful reviews for the texture, the moistness, and the taste. It wasn't a mushy paste, it was perfectly spiced, and it did not burn onto the sides of the bag inside the crock. All in all, it was a wonderful recipe, and I'll be making my stuffing this way every year! Thanks, Gayle, for freeing up some of my oven space!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCORTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Much easier than trying to coordinate the stuffing with the turkey. I use a half cup butter though. A cup seems kind of ridiculous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Good flavor. I used one loaf of bread and cut it up into cubes and baked them lightly to dry them out. Used 2 1/2 cups of broth and that was a little too much. Next time will use 1 1/2 then add more if needed. Was a little too soggy with 2 1/2 so I put it in a 9x13 and baked it at 350. It helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Stuffing

See how to make moist stuffing in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States