Slow Cooker Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This was absolutely perfect for our Thanksgiving meal (9 people, half of whom are EXTREMELY picky eaters) this year! I especially loved having the extra space in my oven! I definitely made a few tweaks to the recipe to make it more "my own." I used a mixture of croissants and good Italian white bread that I had cubed and dried in my oven. Plus, when I melted the butter, I added the dried herbs in with the onion/celery/mushrooms, so that the herbs would eventually be evenly distributed throughout the bread mixture. Finally, I added the chicken broth only a little at a time. I didn't need nearly as much broth as the recipe calls for, as my bread was a little more fresh than the original recipe uses. All in all I highly recommend this recipe, and it will certainly be used again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
The idea of making stuffing in a crockpot and freeing up the oven is brilliant! I would give this recipe a 5 for flavor, but as written only a four. It calls for too much liquid. I started with 2 cups and added one more cup after 45 min and that was all I ever added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROMMICHIGAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
My family loved this recipe on Thanksgiving this year. This recipe was a hit. I added just a tad bit less broth than called for but that is the only change I made. I will be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This was great stuffing. I used the packaged bread cubes instead of regular bread and it was very easy to make in the slow cooker. I buttered the inside and would recommend that. It made the entire house smell great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMARASUE2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemlock, Michigan, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This recipe was truly out of this world!!!!.......I made this for Thanksgiving and my family absolutely loved it! Definitely a keeper!! Thanks so much for sharing your recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Perry, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This was good, but I tried it in the oven. I agree with the others who said there is way too much liquid in this. It tasted great but was way too mushy for my taste, which was unappetizing. If I had known, I would've added another 3 cups of bread. I would try it again though--great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
SO yummy! I didn't have dry bread, so I just cut sandwich bread into cubes and toasted it in the oven until it was dry. I took the advice of another reviewer and just stirred in all of the herbs, salt, and pepper into the butter before mixing it with the bread cubes. This will definitely be a repeat recipe every Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Really tasty and really easy! I excluded the eggs and only used about 2 1/2 cups of broth. I sprayed the inside of the slow cooker with Pam and stirred every half hour or so. Had no problem with sticking. Kept on low for about 4 hours. Based on other comments will probably decrease amount of butter next time. Followed seasonings/herbs to a tee. Loved this combo. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Powell, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This was a very tasty recipe, even my husband liked it a lot and he does not really like stuffing. I used one of the crock pot liner bags which was a good thing because before I knew it, it start to stick to the bag and I absolutely hate cleaning the crock pot. I did use extra broth at the end and added more salt. I'm not a saltaholic but I just thought it tasted better that way. I will be making this recipe whenever I want stuffing during the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Lake, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
We made this for Thansgiving and it was outstanding. Some tips: you can mix everything but the broth up the night before. We leave out the eggs just because it is our preference. A mix of white and dark bread (especially rye) make this even better. A well greased crockpot prevents sticking. Add more broth while cooking if needed- we added about 3/4 -1 cup as is cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Stuffing

See how to make moist stuffing in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States