Slow Cooker Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Made this using 1/2 stick of butter, combined 1/2 package of both Pepperidge Farm cornbread and herb seasoned stuffing, 2 cups vegetable broth instead of chicken, and 3 TB fresh sage, finely chopped, and fresh thyme, 2 TB along with other ingredients as listed. Cooked 4 hrs and stirred every 1 1/2 hrs to keep the crust from forming and monitor the liquid. It turned out light and full of flavor. Loved using the slow cooker which helped free up the oven. Enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Great for the pot luck needs. I used cut up day old bagettes, it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souix Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This was a good recipe. Not the best stuffing ever, But, it was great for a large crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Dry out the bread (12 cups = 1 loaf, I used 1/2 brown & 1/2 cinammon rasin) for at lease 3 days. Cooked down the celery & onion in LOTS of butter. It looks like too much butter - but you'll use less chicken stock. I used less than half the required chicken stock and still found it too wet. Cooked without the lid on for the entire time and it was a little less wet by the time I served it. Mom & mom-in-law both LOVED it. They've both asked for the recipe! SCORE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liana

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I must admit that I don't think this stuffing "looks" the most appetizing, but it certainly TASTES LIKE HEAVEN! I made a traditional stuffing w/apricots to go inside of the actual turkey, which all of my family and relatives love, but this year they told me that this one is their new favorite so I better make it again each year! I loved that it made so much and I had plenty on hand, which is always a problem with our family of 14+!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midnightbrew79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Savannah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I made this for Thanksgiving this year and it was great! Frees up room in the oven and is simple. I read all the reviews before making it and was a little nervous that it wouldn't turn out right. Depending on how you like your stuffing, use the broth sparingly. My family likes stuffing a little on the dry side, so I only used about 2 cups and it was still pretty moist. I plan to try it again and maybe add some oysters too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I made this for Christmas dinner. It was a hit! Lovely texture. Easy and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Although other reviewers found this watery, mine was a bit dry, and I used almost the full amount of (veg) broth. It could be because I used only half the fat (butter + olive oil), or because I used very hearty bread (three types: rosemary, rustic farmer's, and rye). Mine burned on the bottom, even though I followed the temp/time directions exactly. I used all fresh herbs, and the flavor was nice. I'll probably try this again next year and tweak it slightly. It's a pity some reviewers found the need to be so snarky. If your Christmas was "ruined" by this stuffing, you've got far bigger problems than just bad food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
It's pure MUSH!!1! 6 cups of broth and 6 cups of bread crumbs????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Tastes like mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Stuffing

See how to make moist stuffing in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States