Slow Cooker Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
After reading all the negative reviews on here referring to the amount of broth, I had to post. I used two bags (which totalled 12 cups) store-bought stuffing -- one cubed white bread and one almost-powdered cornbread. Even though the stuffing was pre-seasoned, I used the same amount of spices that the recipe called for. I omitted the mushrooms, because we don't care for them. I used 5 cups broth, dumped in all at the beginning. I used a 5 qt. crockpot with a crockpot bag to avoid a messy clean up, and put a paper towel on top of the crockpot under the lid. I opened the crockpot twice while cooking it on low for 6 hrs., but did not stir. A few minutes before serving, I ladled about 3/4 cup turkey drippings onto the top of the stuffing while still in the crockpot. Guests served themselves from the crockpot, and I got nothing but wonderful reviews for the texture, the moistness, and the taste. It wasn't a mushy paste, it was perfectly spiced, and it did not burn onto the sides of the bag inside the crock. All in all, it was a wonderful recipe, and I'll be making my stuffing this way every year! Thanks, Gayle, for freeing up some of my oven space!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCORTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Much easier than trying to coordinate the stuffing with the turkey. I use a half cup butter though. A cup seems kind of ridiculous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Good flavor. I used one loaf of bread and cut it up into cubes and baked them lightly to dry them out. Used 2 1/2 cups of broth and that was a little too much. Next time will use 1 1/2 then add more if needed. Was a little too soggy with 2 1/2 so I put it in a 9x13 and baked it at 350. It helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Very good! But I agree, too much salt. But I did add some pork sausage in mine. Next time, I will not. And omit the salt all together, IMO. I used 4 cups of chicken broth. I will save this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MochaMe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Twin Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was a big hit! I used a box of Classic Stuffing from the grocery store plus most of a loaf of French bread which I cubed and let air dry for two days. I did not use mushrooms but added pork sausage and one diced apple. Delicious! Using the crock pot is the way to go. I uncovered it the last hour and it had just the right amount of moisture and crispness (add broth only as needed, as suggested). I can't wait to make this again. I might add another apple next time, and I want to try adding some cornbread. Thanks so much, Gayle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was so easy and freed up my precious oven space. Be sure to grease or butter the inside of your crockpot first. My crockpot has 4 settings, 4, 6, 8 & 10 hours. I used the 4 hour but only needed about 3. Still came out really good with a crispy bottom. This will become a regular method from now on! Thanks for sharing Gayle!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulare, California, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I have made this 3 years in a row. Everyone LOVES it. I get requests months in advance for this stuffing. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I just finished making this and tasted it - awesome! The flavor was so good. In the past the stuffings I've made have been bland. I used two 10 oz boxes of stuffing - they say it's 16 cups. I made giblet stuffing so I boiled the giblets and chopped them up and used the liquid for the broth, it was about 4 cups. I added the entire amount because it was just moist and I used the paper towel trick. I remove the paper towel just before I turned the crockpot to warm because it might start to dry out. My 8 year old daughter tasted it and said she was in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
The recipe is absolutely delicious (after 4 hrs.), but please do not make the mistake I did. Because it called for a 4-8 hr. cooking time, I thought I had better cook it for the full time. When I checked it at about 4 hrs. it looked great and ready to use, but I wasn't sure it had cooked all the way thru, so I did the full 8. Dried and overcooked! Will surely make again and only cook 4 hrs. next time. I added cooked sausage, apples , and craisins to mine and it was wonderful. Didn't give it 5 stars because the instructions left that big window of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jiminycricket

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Stuffing

See how to make moist stuffing in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States