Slow Cooker Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This stuffing was to die for. We fried our turkey this year so there was no drippings and no stuffing the bird. It was so moist and tasted better than my mom's stuffing. I did add a pound of sage sausage and then cut the sage in half. I still found that the stuffing had a little too much sage for my taste. Next time I won't add the sage. I only added a little chicken broth and then as needed. I used 6.5 cups torn french bread, 6.5 cups of seasoned croutons and then because I thought the sage was a tad over powering, I used a bag of Stove Top. This is a keeper for sure. I'll make it again for Christmas. We had no left-overs. Thank you thank you for a wonderful Thanksgiving. Everyone raved about the stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Excellent idea! I didn't follow the recipe exactly, I toasted my bread because I didn't have old bread and omitted the eggs. I added chicken broth and poultry seasoning, salt and pepper to taste. Also, I added turkey drippings, cooked it on high for a bout an hour then low for 4 hours and it was perfect, tasted like out of the bird stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
2 cups broth doubled poultry seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I printed this a few years ago and have been using ever since. Turns out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I will never make stuffing any other way ever again! It tasted just like it came out of the bird! I used 1 1/2 packages of peperidge farm stuffing (not the cubed kind) and a tad more than half of a 32 oz box of turkey stock. Because I used packaged stuffing I skipped the salt completely. I used fresh sage, thyme, and parsley for my herbs. Everything else I kept the same. I do not recommend skipping the eggs they definitely made a difference. Everyone thinking of trying this recipe must try it. I do agree with everyone else that 4 1/2 cups of stock is too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Excellent recipe, with a few small changes for our family to include a few things that we like in our stuffing. I did add a mess of fresh minced garlic and cut back on the onion and celery just a bit so I could add a cup or so of chopped carrot. I did double the spices and I kept the salt to a minimum. I used organic broth and all organic veggies/dry bread. Because it's tradition, I did add in chopped meat from the giblets and neck that I cooked down for the juice for gravy. Really, REALLY good. Even my husband who's super traditional when it comes to stuffing loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This is truely my grandma's stuffing--only in a crock pot. I tried for several years to make "grandma's stuffing". Her recipe was "a bit of this, a bit of that & until it looks like enough". I remembered how it tasted & just could not find the right one. After many attempts, I found this exact recipe in a slow cooker recipe book many many years ago. The 1st time I tried it, my mom took 1 bite & asked me how I got grandma's recipe. BINGO! After I heard Julia say that "if you salt the bird in the cavity as much as you should, you could never eat the stuffing." My kind of cook!. Hated dealing with the bird & stuffing! My son-in-law comes in Thanksgiving morning sniffing & says "YES! It is Thanksgiving!" But you must use REAL butter & don't skimp. We only make it once a year, so we just go for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
My Grandma has been making this stuffing for probably the better part of 30 years... It came out of her crock pot recipe book. She does use less liquid than the recipe calls for... It's really a thing you have to 'feel' for yourself. I've made it once or twice to the same perfection that she does and it's awesome! Can't wait until Thursday... I can already taste it! THIS is what comfort food is all about!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This was just okay.. I still like the stuffing from the box more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slewis0054

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Actually came out really good! No one would have guessed it wasn't made in a turkey. I could tell a little difference in taste, but the stuffing was very moist and a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Stuffing

See how to make moist stuffing in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States