Slow Cooker Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
i make this almost every Thanksgiving. It is moist and tastes similar to Stove top. sometimes i use preseasoned cubes, other times, plain & add spices in the recipe. either way it's a great way to save oven space on Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Levittown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I made this last Thanksgiving and my family decided that I am in charge of dressing anytime we have a turkey. I love that it frees up the oven. I change it up a bit every time - toasted pine nuts, diced apple, bacon, dried cranberries... This is a basic recipe that can be easily customized. I do recommend using the tea towel under the lid of the slow cooker to keep the dressing from getting soggy. Try it - you won't regret it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This Thanksgiving, I was looking for dressing recipes. I came across this one and decided to use it due to the high rating. It turns out I had made this same recipe 2 years ago! Excellent flavor and came together quickly. I used roughly 22 cups of dried bread cubes (without the seasoning packet), omitted the mushrooms (due to personal taste), eggs (really didn't miss those at all) and the salt (per previous reviews). I didn't measure the other vegetables, used dried herbs, added one package of sausage, and used 4 (14.5 ounce) cans of chicken broth. This seemed to be an adequate amount of broth (I had read through all the reviews about soupy dressing). Next time I would leave out the sausage as it seemed a bit overwhelming. I also added sunflower seeds and sauteed garlic with the celery and onions. Overall, this is a keeper recipe and one I will turn to each time I host Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This was so good but I added some things too it. I browned up pork sage sausage, added 2 apples and about 3/4c of dried cranberries. It was moist and I used all of the chx stock. The only thing I would caution people about is that you can't leave it in the crockpot on low all day, the bottom scorched. Otherwise, an excellent basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
This was great! I made it for a Thanksgiving Recipe Exchange, and love the slow cooker option, since everyone is so pressed for oven space on the holiday. I used almost 2 loaves of cubed French bread that I baked on 200 degrees to get crisp (like the bagged stuffing.) I followed the advice of others and ended up using just under a can of broth, as well as laid a dish towel between the crockpot and the lid, to soak up some of the condensation so it wouldn't become way soggy. The flavor was great, and I loved that I could do all the main prep work the day before, just tossing it all together the day of. I DID add sage sausage (that I browned ahead of time) and did cook for 4 hours maximum. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This recipe was amazing!! Easy and oh so yummy!! I used two loaves of gluten free bread from Schar. I put it in my food processor to chop it up and it worked like a charm. I used about two cups of gluten free reduced sodium chicken broth and I put a towel under the lid to absorb the moisture. I cooked it on low for six hours. I will never make stuffing any other way now that I have been spoiled with this recipe!! I left out the mushrooms as the kiddos are not a fan. Try this recipe... it will not disappoint!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
My familt has used this recipe for the last seven - SEVEN - years! Hard to believe it's been that long! It's a favourite for the following reasons: 1. Crockpot - freeing up room in the oven 2. Can be made vegetarian (substitute veg stock for chicken) because it isn't inside the bird! I have used both fresh sliced bread and dried bread cubes for this recipe - I find the dried works much better. I always use this recipe to stuff the turkey as well - always fantastic. The most important part is getting the stuffing to the perfect moisture level, which is easier and easier each time as you learn how it cooks - just add the stock bit by bit, and don't overdo it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIESHAW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I made this for a family Christmas supper. My Mother always added brown sugar to her stuffing and I have been trying to duplicate the flavour that everyone in my family grew up with and misses since my Mom passed away. This recipe was close to hers so I omitted the mushrooms, thyme, and marjoram and added about a 1/4 cup brown sugar to the cooked vegetables and let it cook down. My siblings and my mom's grandchildren all loved the taste and said that it reminded them of Mom/Grandma. I found it was way too much broth and so it was gummy and today when I make it I will use way less. I am going to try stuffing my chicken with it today so wish me luck!! Thanx for the memory evoking recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nadine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I like my stuffing crispy. The flavor of this is wonderful, but it was too moist for me. Maybe it's because I dumped all of the 4 c of chicken broth in at once. Next year, I'd like to add it as needed. I love the taste of celery, onions, and mushrooms as I take bites, but it was all mixed together as one mushy substance. It sounds like we didn't like it, but it was all eaten by the 6 of us. It's hard to find stuffing for the crock pot to cook while we're camping. I know this can be perfected to be less moist. It takes the longest of our dishes to make, but it's so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I used less salt and less broth...just eyeballed it until it was the right consistency. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Stuffing

See how to make moist stuffing in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States