Slow Cooker Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
LOVED IT! --yes--I read all 200+ reviews before I made it. The issue with the ammount of broth does depend on the kind of bread you use. Use less for fresh bread and more for store bought hard packaged. I used the packaged and used all the broth. I think taking the time to mix it thourghly to absorb the liquid is essential also. I also got the feeling it was on edge of being over cooked, so I skipped the 45 min high setting and I put the crock pot on Low for 4 hours and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1480 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
I think the 4 1/2 c. broth is a misprint. I followed the advice of those who have gone before (and the back of the bread cubes package) and used 2 1/2 cups broth. It was still a little moist for my liking, so I recommend starting with 2 cups broth and adding more as needed. I also cooked and added 1 lb. sage-flavored Jimmy Dean sausage and reduced the amount of sage in the recipe to 1/2 tsp. I got rave reviews from the whole family on Christmas, including my extremely fussy stepdaughter, who had seconds! It also freed up precious oven space. This recipe will feed a LOT of people. Don't try to make this in a small 3 1/2 qt crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
674 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I was nervous to try this and take the chance my stuffing wouldn't turn out on Thanksgiving but just had to give it a try. I'm so glad I did. It was perfect and so easy. I used about 10 cups of dried, cubed bread from Whole Foods and I also bought a fresh loaf of french bread and added about 3 cups of that. The french bread has a good consistency and you don't have to worry about drying it out ahead. I omitted the mushrooms but followed the recipe otherwise as written but added about 2 tsp. minced garlic to the onion celery mixture and added the spices into this mixture while it was cooking before pouring over bread. DON'T ADD ALL 4-1/2 CUPS CHICKEN BROTH. Just add enough to moisten the bread because you'll be checking on it all day and can add more as needed. I cooked it on high for 30 minutes then switched to low for another 5 hours till we were ready to eat. I stirred about once an hour and added more chicken broth as needed. By the end I had only added about 2-1/2 or 3 cups total. I will definitely use this method again. It's so nice to have one less thing to worry about at the end. When you are mashing potatoes, baking rolls and making gravy the stuffing is sitting in the crock pot ready to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
572 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I have not made this particular recipe yet but I have made dressing in a slow cooker. As people will be checking here for Thanksgiving ideas I thought I would give some advice. Just moisten the dressing at first and add the reserved stock as you go to control the moisutre. Check on it after the first couple hours and peek at it hourly after that. Also, I have read that if you put a cloth kitchen towel over the top and then put the lid on, condensation will be absorbed by the towel. I think the soggy texture people are experiencing is due to adding too much broth at the beginning and the condensation accumulating on the lid and dripping back down. Add less broth at first and try the towel trick. And at the end...Too dry? Add more broth. Too soggy? Cook last 40 minutes uncovered. Happy Thanksgiving to All!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
531 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Could this BE any easier? YES! Prepare it the day before the feast AND line your pot with a cooking bag! To do this, add all ingredients (in a bowl - not the pot) as directed EXCEPT for the eggs! Cover and chill the mixture until completely cold in the fridge and THEN add the eggs and mix. Spoon the mixture into the lined crock pot. Cover and refrigerate until morning. The next morning put the crock pot on Low heat and let cook all day. The only problem was that personally we found the stuffing too wet. Next time I will reduce the amount of broth to 3 cups. Before serving, I will add more if I feel it's too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
281 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Perfect recipe for a slow cooker or those who are counter constrained. Used 3.5 cups of broth and it was perfect... HELPFUL HINT: Laying a dish towel over the top of the crock and then putting the lid on, helps keep extra moisture out of the stuffing. Thanks Gayle for a nice addtion to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
258 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
AWESOME!!! If you use your common sense this will NOT turn out soggy. The recipe says 4 1/2 cups of broth OR AS NEEDED DEPENDING ON HOW DRY YOUR BREAD IS. I did in fact use 1/2 of the broth called for & kept it on low for 4 hours... PERFECT! Just like it was from the bird, the picky family loved it! Thanks for making my life simple Gayle!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
To die for! I used the entire 4 1/2 cups of broth. Cooked it for about 5 hours, then realized it was too moist (almost soggy). Took the lid off for the last hour, and it was perfect!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
This recipe RUINED my first Thanksgiving dinner for the inlaws last week. 4 1/2 cups of broth!!?? I added just 2.5 cups before realizing it was already WAY too much. It calls for 4.5 cups, then says "add enough to moisten." I ended up with stuffing soup - totally inedible. It smelled delicious, but....there has to be some sort of mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
This was incredibly good! Like everyone else, I did have a little trouble with the amount of broth to use. Here is what I think....if you make your own dried bread, you probably won't need but about 2-2.5 cups. However, if you use the dried bread cubes from the store that are similar to croutons and very dry, you will have to use more. I measured 12 cups of the dry cubes bought from the store (plain) and I had to use just over 4 cups. Even after that, some of the bread was crunchy. I made this for our Thanksgiving pitch-in at work and had to go, so I didn't have time to figure out what else to do. I threw it in the crock pot and put it on low for 30 minutes while I finished getting ready. Plugged it in at work and after about 2 hours, it was perfect. Very moist but not soupy and so far, everyone has loved it! Instead of all the seasoning, I used 4 tsp. poultry seasoning since it has everything in it and about a tsp of salt. Thanks, Gayle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Stuffing

See how to make moist stuffing in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States