Slow Cooker Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I think 4 hours was a bit too long to cook the stuffing. Had I trusted my instincts and stopped at 3 hours then I'm sure I would have loved it and graded it with 5 stars, but I stuck to my rule of never tweaking a recipe on the first try. It tasted a bit overcooked and the bread crumbs turned into mush even though I only used not even half of the broth this recipe called for. I'll try again next time and cook it for less time and hopefully it'll be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Full disclosure - I didn't follow this to the tee. I did do the basic gist of it and it turned out GREAT! Everyone loved it and I'll be doing this again. So nice that it doesn't take up the oven. Highly recommend using a slow cooker bag for easy clean-up. Modifications: I used about 2 1/3 cups of broth, forgot to buy fresh parsley so skipped that, did the herb pack that came with my bread cubes instead (just easier). Just use as much broth as needed to moisten it all nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
First off I used half of the butter. It was plenty. I omitted the herbs and spices in lieu of already seasoned bread crumbs. I used 2 cans of chicken broth, (about 4 C.)and cooked it as directed, on high for 45 min. low 4 hrs. (I didn't open it once!) I was skeptical, but this was fantastic! Moist, but not soggy. I will most definitely be making this again at Christmas. OH! And next year I'll be sure to make it veggie broth so the vegetarians can eat it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Made this stuffing for the first time and it was fantastic. I followed the recipe exactly but cooked the stuffing in the oven rather than a slow cooker. I did use a lot less broth than the 4 1/2 cups the recipe calls for (i used about 1 1/2 cups) and the stuffing was perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Really liked the idea of freeing up oven space. I used only 2 cups of the broth and cooked on high for 1 hour then 3 hours on low. Whole family liked it and the mushrooms are a plus...vitamin D.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I used this recipe mainly to free up the oven and was surprised at how delicious it was! I was leary of the mushrooms but they added great flavor. As previous reviewers suggested, do not use as much stock as the recipe calls for. I used two cans with 12 cups of Peppridge Farm Country Cube bread cubes. I also added a chopped up apple and a cup of dried cranberries for extra flavor. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
It was really good. Nice to have the oven freed up from the stuffing. I'll be making stuffing this way from now on. You can add to the recipe and tweak it to you and your family's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Was delicious! Made it for a potluck at work & I'm making it again this Thanksgiving. I did add 3 extra cups of breadcrumbs last time and did use the 4 cups off broth...they were still moist but that's the way I like them! I might hold back a little bit on the broth this next time. Still a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
With one small change it was perfect! Like the previous reviewers, I also decreased the chicken stock to 2.5 cups. I had to stir the stuffing see real times throughout the day to prevent it from burning on the bottom. I stuck it in the oven for 20 minutes just prior to serving to get a little crispiness on top. Great flavor and perfectly moist with the one ingredient change. Will use this every year from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I discovered this recipe and have been using it for probably 10 years with great results. I get this going in the crock pot before I start deep frying turkeys, and when I'm done frying all my birds, I come into the house and am greeted by the glorious smell of STUFFING! Like other reviewers, I use only 2 1/2 cups of broth and it comes out perfect. Also dry my own bread cubes using a mix of sour-dough, whole wheat and English muffin bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Stuffing

See how to make moist stuffing in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States