Slow Cooker Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I think you could skip the cooking on high step & just cook on low for 2 hours. Mine cooked too long and starting getting too dark. Otherwise, it was a great recipe. I liked how it freed up space in the oven & stayed warm throughout dinner too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Worked Great! This was a hit at my office potluck. We had 25 eaters, and though not everyone ate stuffing, I had a tiny bit leftover after making 24 servings. I used 1.5 tubes of Jimmy Dean Sage sausage (had it in the fridge) and only a small amount of actual sage. Also, I got a loaf of White Mountain Bread and a loaf of French, and it worked beautifully. The bread completely filled my 6q crock pot so the early stages of cooking was a little dicey but it cooked down nicely. I ended up using about 2 3/4 C of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Made as written except decreased amount of broth and added a chopped apple. Came out black and slimy. Undercooked in some spots and burnt in others. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Yea i think its great for any holiday meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I would give 2.5 stars if I could. The taste of the recipe seems to be good. However, this recipe turned out quite soggy and mushy. Furthermore, the amounts listed do not yield 16 servings...unless each person takes a tablespoon of stuffing. After 8 hours in my slow cooker, what looked like a decent amount of stuffing for my company potluck (we have about 50 people in my office) reduced down to serve MAYBE a family of 5-6 people. I had to supplement our entree order with stuffing to make sure people actually get to enjoy some with our Thanksgiving-themed potluck. I think that this may have turned out better if I had cooked it on low for only 4 hours and was able to babysit and stir it often. To be able to bring it to our company potluck, I threw everything in for the night so it was unattended most of the 8 hours of low cooking time. This resulted in it being mostly mushy and soggy, but also scorched on the sides and bottom. Oh, and as for my adjustments: I didn't use the full amount of broth (I followed the instructions and I don't understand why so many people couldn't read that it states to use just enough to moisten) and skipped on the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Been a stove top family for years. One try of this, well, no, two actually, and we are hooked. The first time I didn't follow the suggestions of less liquid and I regretted it, I had stuffing soup. Tried it again, using half the butter and only once cup of broth and PERFECT! you can always add more liquid, removing it proved challenging. It's flavorful and fantastic. totally frees up oven and microwave space for Thanksgiving day. You can easily make it the night before and have it on overnight or prepare first thing in the morning for dinner. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This is it! Stuffing is my favorite part of Thanksgiving, and I made this recipe last year just to save valuable oven space for other things. I was not disappointed -- it was just as good (or better) than the best stuffing I've ever made. I can't wait to make it again this year. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I have been using this recipe for over 30 years and love it. Understand, if you like crispy dressing using a crock put is not for you. Also, crock pots do not cook off liquid they only intensify it. I always start with it barely moist and rarely have to add more broth. I also only use 1/2 the butter and do not cook on high. If you like oysters in your dressing as I do added 1/2 to 1 cup chopped oysters but make the mixture a little more dry as the oyster 'liquor' will add more moisture. For you cornbread dressing lovers this works great. I make the cornbread the day before and let it dry out a bit and I use use the oven method when using cornbread. For those who only have 2 to 4 for a holiday it can also be coupled with a turkey roll or roast. Place the thawed turkey in the center of the cooker and lightly pack the dressing around it. Cover the top with foil and cook 8 to 10 hours on low. Hope this helps folks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I have made this exact recipe for the past several years for Thanksgiving feeding about 25-30 people. Since the first time I made it I have been assigned this part of the meal every year. Not sure why other reviewers are having such a hard time with it being soggy, that has never happened to me. I use the hard bread crumbs, if that helps. Now that I moved away and am not hosting Thanksgiving anymore my family is now asking for this recipe to carry on the tradition. Awesome recipe! Been loving it for years1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Made this last Thanksgiving and it turned out great. I did reduce the amount of broth by adding only half of it intially and then more as needed. I also added some sage sausage since my family loves sausage in their stuffing. Turned out great and was nice to free up the oven for other things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grangeville, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Stuffing

See how to make moist stuffing in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States