Slow Cooker Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This is the exact same recipe that is in my little recipe book that came with my crockpot back in 1983 (I still have both pot & book). The only difference is mine calls for 2 - 2 1/2 c broth & 4oz less mushrooms. I guess each ingredient would be a personal preference. I have used this recipe many times over the years and have only received positive feedback so it's worked for me thus far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
The key to success (delicious success) is to use very dry bread cubes. If they are fresh or just barely dry, this will become a soggy mess in your crockpot. So, either buy the very dry cubed type in a bag OR cube your own bread and let dry out for a couple days on your countertop. (Spread out on some cookie sheets, cover lightly and toss every few hours to distribute the still moist bread cubes with the dry ones. Or place in the oven at a very low temp and let dry out that way for an hour or so.) Then add the liquid using common sense and also taking into consideration your family's preference on the moistness of the stuffing. If they like it very moist, add more, if less moist then add less. Remember, you can always add more as you are cooking this in the crockpot but you can't take it out, so err on the side of too little and then keep checking. I also cook this for 3-4 hours on low and it comes out perfect every time. You can get great results with this recipe if you just use these tips. Also, use the herbs that your family loves if the ones stated don't suit your tastes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Did not like this at all. I added the liquid slowly as other reviewers suggested, but it still came out sticky and unedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This stuffing is delicious! As stated by others do not add all 4.5 cups of broth at one time. I used the dry packaged cubes and added enough to make it moist. But I also checked it occasionally as it was cooking and added more broth as it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I generally dislike homemade stuffings but found this one to be delightful! I didn't alter any quantities, baked it in the oven following the suggested directions and loved it! (okay, I omited the celery and mushrooms because some of my guests had strong taste preferences, but as far as seasonings and broth goes, I followed it to the letter) I had several people comment that it was the best stuffing that they had ever had. Bravo on a delicious yet simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I followed recipe exactly. Bought big bag of dried bread cubes at grocery that they always have for Thanks Giving. I followed recipe exactly. Flavor was excellent but dressing was pretty wet/mushy. Next time I will use less chicken broth. Maybe 3 cups or less. I like stuffing moist but a little fluffy too. Will make again, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This dish is too bland. The texture was perfect. Will not make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This was so good.. I made this perfect by adding the broth as needed. Turned out nice and crunchy but moist and delicious! I actually used most of the broth but by adding a bit at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Poulin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Beach, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktlynn01

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Amazing! Will be making this every year for our Christmas dinner. I just made sure to check it every half hour or so to make sure it had enough broth and didn't dry out. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Stuffing

See how to make moist stuffing in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States