Slow Cooker Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Crowd pleaser. Don't forget to put the dish towel under the lid for condensation. Also, much less chicken broth than it calls for - I used 2 C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I made this for Thanksgiving. The only change I made was to add breakfast sausage. I ended up only needing 2 cups of broth. I loved using the Whole Foods bread cubes for stuffing. That saved me a ton of time. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Tasty traditional dressing. We freeze nice leftover breads throughout the year so our dressing includes white, wheat, grain, rye, etc. I also save plenty of turkey stock so we use that in place of chicken. Before serving we put ours in a foil pan under the broiler for several minutes to get a crusty top. Very good stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I've made this for years, as it's written, and my entire family loves it. It is probably my favorite dish on our Thanksgiving table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I just made this and it is slow cooking. I make this recipe every Thanksgiving and am always so happy to find it every time I Google it. I wrote a review years ago but not sure where it is. This dish is hands down the favorite dish of ALL dishes on the table. Mashed potatoes and homemade gravy comes in second. First I would like to say that I am surprised the author has not adjusted the chicken broth measurement. In my opinion it is clearly way off. I adjusted it to 2 cups to start and then I watch and drizzle as needed. I peek and stir every 30 minutes or so. I like mushrooms but NOT in stuffing so I leave them out. I use an entire loaf of sliced sourdough bread. I put the slices on a huge platter, cover with paper towels and put in the oven with the oven OFF overnight. In the morning I tear all the slices into small/med pieces. I do start the slow cooker on high to get it going and then turn it down to low. I personally like it on the tender/soggy side. It tastes like it came out of the bird with none of the hassle and potential danger of baking the stuffing in the bird. This recipe is a keeper. I bought a portable GE slow cooker (the cord coils in and disappears) which is awesome. And the lid locks for travel. You will need a large slow cooker for this recipe. I wish I had this recipe decades ago. You can whip this out very quickly the morning of Thanksgiving. And the best part is that it is delicious. And of course that it does not require an oven to bake! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry L. Novack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I debated whether or not to risk trying a new stuffing method since that is one of the favorites on Thanksgiving Day. So glad I did, and will never make it any other way than the slow cooker! Used two 1lb. loaves of Italian bread, cubed and dried out for several weeks, about 16 cups. I have a Cuisinart slow cooker that sautes/browns, so sauted chopped onions and celery while mixing my bread cubes with the broth, (about 3 1/2 cups), 1/2 lb. cooked sausage, eggs, and seasonings to taste, no salt was used. Added the veggies to the bread mixture, and threw it all in the slow cooker. Cooked on high for 30 minutes, and low until dinner, which was about 5 hours later. Using the towel under the lid is a necessity, and the stuffing stays so moist that even though I checked it every hour, I used very little, if any additional broth. I've made the same recipe for 21 years, and I was told this was the best year year ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Made this for Thanksgiving dinner, and we all loved it! I only used 1 tsp of salt, and I followed ChefNan's review, and I just set the crock pot on low for 4 hours (skipped the HIGH setting part). The sides were a little well done for our liking at 4 hours, but the majority of it was great! The spices and vegetable amounts were perfect! One of my little nieces is gluten-sensitive, so I made a gluten-free version, using a combination of GF bread cubes that I found at Whole Foods (in the freezer case), and some toasted bread cubes from some GF cornbread that I had previously made. I used the whole 4 1/2 cups broth, and added 1/2 cup more broth, because we like a more moist stuffing. It was so nice not to have to think about this side, but just to let it do its thing! This was great, and it would probably be awesome with sausage in it, I'll have to try that next year. I am saving it as my go-to stuffing recipe (GF or not)! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This recipe is great and no, the amount of broth isn't a misprint. I definitely agree that it probably depends on the breadcrumbs you're using. I used two boxes of the Mrs. Cubbison's bread crumbs and that works out fine with the 4 cups of broth. I found that laying a dish towel on top of the stuffing under the lid is necessary. I also took another reviewer's suggestion of stirring every hour. This is a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coop816

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This was the best stuffing I ever made! The only changes I made were adding the dried spices to the vegetables as I sautéed them, omitted the mushrooms, used 1 tsp salt and 4 cups of broth. That was plenty of broth when using dried bread cubes from whole foods. I put a clean dish towel under the lid as suggested in other reviews and the result was absolutely perfect stuffing! Couldn't have been easier or more delicious. Everyone raved about it at the thanksgiving table. This is my go to stuffing from now on. Thank you for a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This was surprisingly delicious. I was very skeptical about making it in the slow cooker, but it browned so nicely! I listened to many of the other reviews and only added enough broth to moisten it - maybe half the amount called for in the recipe and it was perfect. My only complaint was that I found it to be a bit too salty for my taste. I will reduce the amount of salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Stuffing

See how to make moist stuffing in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States