Slow Cooker Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Perfect slow cooker recipe, great to make early and serve 5 hrs later. Everyone liked this, and was all eaten. thanks. Also used 2 cups chicken broth, I thinks 4.5 is to much. enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I've made this recipe for the last 2 years for family thanksgiving dinner as a substitute for the "in the bird' stuff we grew up with. My version follows the recipe scaled down for 9 servings except for these changes: Use 10 cups stuffing mix (about 1 and 2/3 14 oz bags of Pepperidge Farm herb seasoned stuffing mix -blue label bag) and three 10.75 oz cans of Swanson's low salt chicken broth to the mix & add another 1/2 can or so during cooking to get consistency desired. I stir the mix during cooking a few times, maybe hourly. Add 1.5-2 cups each of diced celery and onions, sauteed in butter, to mix. Use 2 large eggs. Mix it all up the night before & refrigerate in covered Pam-sprayed 6 qt slow cooker. Cook on high for 45 min, then 4 hrs on low, then warm for 2-3 hours (it got done faster than I expected, but held well on warm, just got a tiny bit crispier on the very edges). Lovely bits of crusty stuff around the edges that we all liked a lot. It was too salty the first year, so eliminated the salt and went to the low salt broth, which makes it perfect. I use salted butter, which provided enough salt for my taste. Can't wait to try adding in cooked sage sausage and some dried cranberries this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Fantastic way to prepare stuffing. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I think you could skip the cooking on high step & just cook on low for 2 hours. Mine cooked too long and starting getting too dark. Otherwise, it was a great recipe. I liked how it freed up space in the oven & stayed warm throughout dinner too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya Henry Salyer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Worked Great! This was a hit at my office potluck. We had 25 eaters, and though not everyone ate stuffing, I had a tiny bit leftover after making 24 servings. I used 1.5 tubes of Jimmy Dean Sage sausage (had it in the fridge) and only a small amount of actual sage. Also, I got a loaf of White Mountain Bread and a loaf of French, and it worked beautifully. The bread completely filled my 6q crock pot so the early stages of cooking was a little dicey but it cooked down nicely. I ended up using about 2 3/4 C of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Made as written except decreased amount of broth and added a chopped apple. Came out black and slimy. Undercooked in some spots and burnt in others. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Yea i think its great for any holiday meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I would give 2.5 stars if I could. The taste of the recipe seems to be good. However, this recipe turned out quite soggy and mushy. Furthermore, the amounts listed do not yield 16 servings...unless each person takes a tablespoon of stuffing. After 8 hours in my slow cooker, what looked like a decent amount of stuffing for my company potluck (we have about 50 people in my office) reduced down to serve MAYBE a family of 5-6 people. I had to supplement our entree order with stuffing to make sure people actually get to enjoy some with our Thanksgiving-themed potluck. I think that this may have turned out better if I had cooked it on low for only 4 hours and was able to babysit and stir it often. To be able to bring it to our company potluck, I threw everything in for the night so it was unattended most of the 8 hours of low cooking time. This resulted in it being mostly mushy and soggy, but also scorched on the sides and bottom. Oh, and as for my adjustments: I didn't use the full amount of broth (I followed the instructions and I don't understand why so many people couldn't read that it states to use just enough to moisten) and skipped on the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Been a stove top family for years. One try of this, well, no, two actually, and we are hooked. The first time I didn't follow the suggestions of less liquid and I regretted it, I had stuffing soup. Tried it again, using half the butter and only once cup of broth and PERFECT! you can always add more liquid, removing it proved challenging. It's flavorful and fantastic. totally frees up oven and microwave space for Thanksgiving day. You can easily make it the night before and have it on overnight or prepare first thing in the morning for dinner. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This is it! Stuffing is my favorite part of Thanksgiving, and I made this recipe last year just to save valuable oven space for other things. I was not disappointed -- it was just as good (or better) than the best stuffing I've ever made. I can't wait to make it again this year. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Stuffing

See how to make moist stuffing in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States