Slow Cooker Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I halved the recipe and left out the mushrooms. I used Pepperidge Farms herb stuffing. I didn't add all of the broth, but kinda close. I had a 6 qt slow cooker, and the edges burned despite stirring every hour or so. (30 min on high, 4 hours on low) I wasn't too impressed though everyone else liked it. I liked the use of the crockpot to save oven space, but wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Followed the advice of others by prepping ahead, using less broth and putting a paper towel over the top to absorb the moisture. This recipe was FANTASTIC and a big hit at dinner. My husband passed up his beloved mashed potatoes for another helping of this stuffing.... What??? That is unheard of, and my Dad raved about it as well and usually doesn't eat stuffing. This will be a repeat recipe throughout the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This stuffing turned out really good. I used vegetable stock instead of chicken since i'm a vegetarian, and also omitted the egg due to my nephews food allergies. I used dried bread cubes and around 3 cups of stock total. Just one word of caution, I kept an eye on the stuffing, stirring every hour or so to bring the wet ingredients to the top. But then I had to go out for about 2 hours, and when I came back, the stuffing had really cooked down and turned dark brown. Still tasted good, but I would have probably turned the cooker off sooner had I been watching it. Overall a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This recipe was excellent. I did put a paper towel under the lid, to soak up the moisture. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I think 4 hours was a bit too long to cook the stuffing. Had I trusted my instincts and stopped at 3 hours then I'm sure I would have loved it and graded it with 5 stars, but I stuck to my rule of never tweaking a recipe on the first try. It tasted a bit overcooked and the bread crumbs turned into mush even though I only used not even half of the broth this recipe called for. I'll try again next time and cook it for less time and hopefully it'll be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Full disclosure - I didn't follow this to the tee. I did do the basic gist of it and it turned out GREAT! Everyone loved it and I'll be doing this again. So nice that it doesn't take up the oven. Highly recommend using a slow cooker bag for easy clean-up. Modifications: I used about 2 1/3 cups of broth, forgot to buy fresh parsley so skipped that, did the herb pack that came with my bread cubes instead (just easier). Just use as much broth as needed to moisten it all nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
First off I used half of the butter. It was plenty. I omitted the herbs and spices in lieu of already seasoned bread crumbs. I used 2 cans of chicken broth, (about 4 C.)and cooked it as directed, on high for 45 min. low 4 hrs. (I didn't open it once!) I was skeptical, but this was fantastic! Moist, but not soggy. I will most definitely be making this again at Christmas. OH! And next year I'll be sure to make it veggie broth so the vegetarians can eat it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Made this stuffing for the first time and it was fantastic. I followed the recipe exactly but cooked the stuffing in the oven rather than a slow cooker. I did use a lot less broth than the 4 1/2 cups the recipe calls for (i used about 1 1/2 cups) and the stuffing was perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Really liked the idea of freeing up oven space. I used only 2 cups of the broth and cooked on high for 1 hour then 3 hours on low. Whole family liked it and the mushrooms are a plus...vitamin D.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I used this recipe mainly to free up the oven and was surprised at how delicious it was! I was leary of the mushrooms but they added great flavor. As previous reviewers suggested, do not use as much stock as the recipe calls for. I used two cans with 12 cups of Peppridge Farm Country Cube bread cubes. I also added a chopped up apple and a cup of dried cranberries for extra flavor. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Stuffing

See how to make moist stuffing in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States