Slow Cooker Split Pea Soup with Bacon and Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Great recipe for the crock pot. I used turkey ham instead of the bacon and opted to leave out the red pepper flakes because I don't like spice. I made this a "freezer meal" by dumping everything into a freezer bag (except the split peas) and put it in the freezer. I took the bag out of the freezer the night before crocking to thaw. The next morning I rinsed the split peas and placed them into the crock pot and poured the contents of the freezer bag on top. Turned the crock pot on low and went to work. Came home to a wonderful meal! Will definitely make more to keep in the freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
AWESOME!!! My husband loved it!!!! Only thing different I did is added the grease from the bacon to the crock pot....yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I have always loved pea soup and this recipe was awesome. I loved the addition of hash browns. I had a ham steak on hand so I diced that and added that along with the bacon. Using the slow cooker is a great idea. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Excellent combination of ingredients. We used ham instead of bacon, but plan to try with bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
It was terrific. I added was more liberal with the red pepper flakes. My toddler and preschooler both asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Exceptional! This is the only split pea soup recipe i'll use from now on. Instead of beacon, I used cubed ham (available in most grocery stores). Browned the ham and the vegis in olive oil before adding to the slow cooker. Added two additional cups of bouillon. My husband asked for seconds! I can't ask for more : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STRUDELQUEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Excellent soup! Love the addition of the potatoes. This will be made often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
this is our favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
yummy - everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Wow... Never thought of adding hashbrowns, bacon or red pepper to pea soup, but what a GREAT flavor is added to the soup. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States