Slow Cooker Split Pea Soup with Bacon and Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Great recipe for the crock pot. I used turkey ham instead of the bacon and opted to leave out the red pepper flakes because I don't like spice. I made this a "freezer meal" by dumping everything into a freezer bag (except the split peas) and put it in the freezer. I took the bag out of the freezer the night before crocking to thaw. The next morning I rinsed the split peas and placed them into the crock pot and poured the contents of the freezer bag on top. Turned the crock pot on low and went to work. Came home to a wonderful meal! Will definitely make more to keep in the freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I followed the directions to a T. 12 hours after first turning it on - I still had crunchy peas. I added more liquid (though that didn't seem to really be an issue in the first place, but I thought it might help), and another 12 hours go by - CRUNCHY PEAS. I've turned the heat up on the crockpot to high, b/c I think that might be the only way to fix it. I don't want to waste the ingredients by throwing it out. It's useless as it is now, though. I had been keeping it on low b/c it was not being supervised (first, away from the house for 8 hours, then overnight while we slept). Now that I'll be home to watch it all day, I will see if high helps. If not - I may have to change my review to 1 star. I only gave it 2 so far b/c the flavor & idea of the soup is okay - the problem was execution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Excellent combination of ingredients. We used ham instead of bacon, but plan to try with bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Pretty good. I didn't have any bacon, so left it out, and meant to put in the potatoes but got sidetracked. Even so, it was a very hearty soup; probably doesn't need the potatoes and ham, but I bet it's good with it. My only note is the bacon probably adds salt and flavor; it was a tad on the bland side for me, but since I didn't add the bacon I figure that is my fault. I did have an interesting dilemma with the time frame; it was on all day on low but nowhere near done when I got home, so I jacked it up to high and it was done after two hours on high. So, for those who are having issues with lack of cooking, try different temps on your slow cooker. This makes loads of soup; we just finished it this week and made it earlier last week. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Made it as is and loved it. Second time, I borrowed some inspiration from our favorite Indian restaurant. I reduced potatoes by half and substituted chopped cauliflower of about same size as hash browns. Additionally added cumin and curry powder. Yum, yum. Even better reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I have always loved pea soup and this recipe was awesome. I loved the addition of hash browns. I had a ham steak on hand so I diced that and added that along with the bacon. Using the slow cooker is a great idea. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This is the best soup recipe! My husband and I love it! I did make some slight variations. I sauteed the onion, garlic, celery, and carrots before putting in the crockpot. I also added extra garlic (I always add extra garlic to a recipe). And then added 1/2 tsp of smoked paprika and 1/2 tsp of cumin. We can't get enough of this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Good stuff! A hearty split pea soup. Substituted Roasted Red Pepper & Spinach Sausage for the bacon. Other than that change, made as written. After trying some, we wanted a more creamy texture, and decided to gently blend it in a Vitamix (#1 setting for about a minute). When made again, we will add some seasoning beyond black pepper to satisfy our taste preference. The combination of hash browns and mild heat from the red pepper flakes sets this split pea soup apart from most others. This is a very simple recipe, and aided by the convenience of a slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Exceptional! This is the only split pea soup recipe i'll use from now on. Instead of beacon, I used cubed ham (available in most grocery stores). Browned the ham and the vegis in olive oil before adding to the slow cooker. Added two additional cups of bouillon. My husband asked for seconds! I can't ask for more : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STRUDELQUEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
It was terrific. I added was more liberal with the red pepper flakes. My toddler and preschooler both asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States