Slow Cooker Split Pea Soup with Bacon and Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Great recipe for the crock pot. I used turkey ham instead of the bacon and opted to leave out the red pepper flakes because I don't like spice. I made this a "freezer meal" by dumping everything into a freezer bag (except the split peas) and put it in the freezer. I took the bag out of the freezer the night before crocking to thaw. The next morning I rinsed the split peas and placed them into the crock pot and poured the contents of the freezer bag on top. Turned the crock pot on low and went to work. Came home to a wonderful meal! Will definitely make more to keep in the freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I have always loved pea soup and this recipe was awesome. I loved the addition of hash browns. I had a ham steak on hand so I diced that and added that along with the bacon. Using the slow cooker is a great idea. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
this is our favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Excellent combination of ingredients. We used ham instead of bacon, but plan to try with bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
AWESOME!!! My husband loved it!!!! Only thing different I did is added the grease from the bacon to the crock pot....yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Excellent soup! Love the addition of the potatoes. This will be made often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
yummy - everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
It was terrific. I added was more liberal with the red pepper flakes. My toddler and preschooler both asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Exceptional! This is the only split pea soup recipe i'll use from now on. Instead of beacon, I used cubed ham (available in most grocery stores). Browned the ham and the vegis in olive oil before adding to the slow cooker. Added two additional cups of bouillon. My husband asked for seconds! I can't ask for more : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STRUDELQUEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I followed the directions to a T. 12 hours after first turning it on - I still had crunchy peas. I added more liquid (though that didn't seem to really be an issue in the first place, but I thought it might help), and another 12 hours go by - CRUNCHY PEAS. I've turned the heat up on the crockpot to high, b/c I think that might be the only way to fix it. I don't want to waste the ingredients by throwing it out. It's useless as it is now, though. I had been keeping it on low b/c it was not being supervised (first, away from the house for 8 hours, then overnight while we slept). Now that I'll be home to watch it all day, I will see if high helps. If not - I may have to change my review to 1 star. I only gave it 2 so far b/c the flavor & idea of the soup is okay - the problem was execution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States