Slow Cooker Split Pea Soup with Bacon and Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Pretty darn good and pretty darn easy!! I followed the recipe exactly. Ham, bacon, smoked hock --- all would be fine for this recipe. My fella really liked this soup. I served it in bread bowls. I will make this again. Thank you Barb for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
This was FANTASTIC. It was my first time making and eating split pea soup, and it was a big hit! We were in a budget crunch, so I used white potatoes diced small instead of buying hash browns, and I think I would do that again---it added a nice heartiness to the soup so it felt more like a meal. I even had it over a baked potato one day for lunch and that was great, too; the soup definitely improves over time! This was flavorful, hearty, filling, delicious, easy, and cheap---a terrific recipe all around! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Since I have either split pea or lentil soup in 90% of my at home lunches, I think I know a good one when I see it. This was delicious. One change I made simply due to expedience: I too overly cooked a small potato in the microwave, then mashed. I don't have hash browns on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
using crock pot or stove top this is great! I use instant mashed if my soup is not thick enough at the end of the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Wonderful soup. Very easy. I do it on the stove too. Word to SilverXeno....could your slow cooker be dying? I can't imagine one cooking peas for 24 hours and them still being crunchy. Just a thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hana
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
In South Africa a curried stew or thick soup served in a hollowed-out bun or half a loaf of bread is known as a "bunny chow". It is a "meal in one". I add half a cup of fresh frozen peas to the pea soup just before dishing up to make it look attractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Why would anyone use frozen hashbrowns when you can use freshly shredded potatoes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This is almost identical to my recipe, but I have access to smoked ham hocks which are terrific, especially the second day. I'll put a 1 Kgm ham hock in and by the second day, all of the meat falls off and the marrow has leached out. Adds great flavour. Another variation is to use lentils instead of peas. More protein in lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Walker Bennett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This is delicious! I blended about 2/3 of it after it was finished cooking to make a creamier soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This recipe is really good. I did tweak it slightly. I sauteed the onion in the bacon fat. I also added some ham. Really delicious and surprisingly filling for a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Hancock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States