Slow Cooker Split Pea Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Really easy, really good. I think next time I'll use ham instead though. I think that will give it the edge to 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This rating is based on the soup that I made, and made the following tweeks: 1.) Instead of using bouillon cubes, I used 5 cups chicken broth, and 5 cups water 2.) I omitted the sausage and potatoes so there were less calories 3.) Spices - I added also: onion powder, celery salt, black pepper & white pepper 4) I cooked it in the crock pot a little longer, and it came out creamy, and there was no need for a blender! It was really amazing; as good or better than any restaurant!! The leftovers are even better because the soup thickens up a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdg2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
As a busy mom, I'm always looking for good crock pot recipes and this one will be a keeper for me. Since I had a ham bone from Easter, I used it instead of the sausage - I boiled it with the peas and water, added some broth too and put it on high for 3 hours. Then I took out the bone and scraped off the ham, added it back in with the rest of the ingredients. Cut the bullion cubes down to one and left it on low for another 2 hours. It came out so delicious even my 7 year old asked for seconds. I will make this again and am looking forward to trying it with the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
VERY GOOD! I did on top of stove. Made a smaller batch for me. In a pot I covered 2 cups dry split peas & bay leaf w/water & brought to boil for 2 min. Remove from heat & cover, let sit 1 hr. Drain, added 5 cups water & used chicken base (from Costco). Sauteed carrots, celery & added to soup along w/ 1 diced potato. Brought to boil, turn down to simmer for 4 1/2 hr. (Last hour, I threw in Hillshire Farms Lil smokey TURKEY links which I cut up. I did throw in a couple whole ones). Very FLAVORFUL soup! I will make this again. Thanks alot for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissSmileyFaces

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Although this soup tasted pretty good, it had a very unappetizing color and texture after sitting in the slow cooker all day, plus a layer of sausage grease on top. My family hardly touched it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I'll never buy that canned stuff again. This made a huge batch so that I can freeze single servings. This was good the second day too. I would like to try it with ham the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Effingham, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I love this soup. Sometimes it turns out a little too thick so I do check on it towards the end to check the consistancy. I use some milk, besides water or chicken broth. Its good without so many of the extra veggies listed, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dewey, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This was fabulous! I used the advice given by others (sort by "most helpful" under reviews). 8 cups of chicken boullion - I am a very new cook, so the canned kind. I used real garlic cloves (3) instead of powder. I diced everything very fine and put it in. Instead of sausage, I used a leftover ham bone I had stored in the freezer. After 5 hours, I took out the ham bone and put everything through the blender (my kids won't eat anything that has different textures or competing colors). I did not have potatoes so after an extensive internet search, I added instant flakes - Betty Crocker - about 1/3 cup. It thickened the soup perfectly (I whisked the soup to get out all lumps). Then I cut up the ham and put it in (I pick it out when I prepare a bowl for my children). I did add salt - note for those cooking impaired - if you add salt that's not granulated, wait a few minutes for it to dissolve before adding more. This recipe was so easy and so fabulous. My husband LOVED it, my kids liked it (this is huge), and I felt like an expert cook. If you are new to cooking, start here. You will be excited to try more recipes. Also, always sort the reveiws by "most helpful" - here you will find the tips from the expert cooks to make recipes even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Used ham and put it not the pot at the very end as trying to keep down the fat. Blended first with hand held boat motor (as we call it)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I was disappointed with this given the really good reviews. I thought it was too thin and would definitely decrease the amount of water. I also thought it was a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States