Slow Cooker Split Pea Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I really enjoyed this soup. As is I give this a 4 but it does have 5 star potential. I did add a little Goya seasoning salt which did help wake up the broth. Next time I make it (there definitely will be next time :)) I will add the sausage maybe an hour or less before the soup is done because I found the sausage lost a lot of it's flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oneluvrevolution

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Love the soup! It's perfect for a chilly winter day. Though I cooked it on high for five hours and it still wasn't done, so I put it on low overnight. I also put about half the soup in the blender (without the sausage) to give it a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Great Soup! Next time I will use either a cup or two less water or most likely keep it the same and use a bag and a half of peas and two sausages. It was very good and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Meadows, Idaho, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Great! I assembled it in crock pot the night before and stored in the fridge. In the morning, turned it on, and had delicious soup for dinner when I got home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
SOOOO good!! I used smoked turkey sausage to cut back on fat a little. I was ready to use my immersion blender to make it creamy but I didn't need to. It was creamy with chunks of potatoes, the taste of the sausage. WONDERFUL! Great with tuna sandwiches for an end to a busy day and cold evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I guess this is a recipe where the meat is essential. I made it without the sausage and didn't care too much for it. I had to add a lot of spices to combat the blandness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Jad to cook about 2 hours longer than stated, but overall came out great! Not a super big hit in my house, but the jury is still out on that one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I typically use 7 cups of liquid (4 cups chicken broth, 3 cups water) to get the thicker consistency that I prefer. If it comes out too thin for your tastes, you can always thicken it up quickly with some instant mashed potatoes flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lithia Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Delicious simple soup. Not much needed so easy on the wallet too. I did but back on the sausage so ready to make another batch in very near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Really great recipe. I gave it 4 stars because I used 8 cups of broth rather than 10 (we like a thicker soup) and I used diced ham instead of the kielbasa since that's all I had. Next time I'm going to sweat the onion and garlic a bit and use kielbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States