Slow Cooker Split Pea Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Best pea soup ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This is a good base recipe but I didn't feel it had enough herbs in it and it was definitely too runny for my taste. I also tried it with Italian Sausage and the oregano flavor was too strong. Perhaps I simply don't love oregano enough to love this recipe as is! However, over time I've modified it down to a version that my family loves!!! Everyone has several bowlfuls when I make it. I've saved a custom version of my changes for anyone interested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semichee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I make this with ground turkey (browned) instead of sausage. First time was out of necessity (that was all I had), now I only make it that way - healthier and still delicious. Husband loves it, too. This soup has definitely become part of my standard slow cooker dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
excellent. My only problem was that the ham steak I added tasted like nothing at the end. I think next time I'll add it near the end of cooking or try the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Great recipe! Extremely easy to throw together. I used pork bones ( didn't have any sausage). My hubby & 10 year old LOVED it. This goes into my recipe box for sure. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENJENJEN09

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
So good!!!! I used chicken broth ( it was on sale ) and used left over ham from thanksgiving , great easy delicious recipe can't wait to try it with sausage , turned out great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Angels Camp, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This was good . Stick with cooking time suggested . I cooked on low for 8 1/2 hrs. , and veggies turned out too mushy .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Ok taste (good base for a pea soup...), but too watery. Not a great consistency. Next time less water and some kind of thickener (and maybe more potato too) would help next time. Also, bacon was mushy. Next time I will use the drippings and crumble the bacon on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I don't know about anyone else; I didn't care for pea soup when I was a kid, but not anymore. What a super idea with the slow cooker. I'm very traditional when it come to the meat in the soup; ham all the way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
My entire family (husband and 3 kids) LOVES this -- winner! Such a good fall/winter recipe. Oh, and easy, easy. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 404) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States