Slow Cooker Split Pea Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I make this with ground turkey (browned) instead of sausage. First time was out of necessity (that was all I had), now I only make it that way - healthier and still delicious. Husband loves it, too. This soup has definitely become part of my standard slow cooker dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
excellent. My only problem was that the ham steak I added tasted like nothing at the end. I think next time I'll add it near the end of cooking or try the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Great recipe! Extremely easy to throw together. I used pork bones ( didn't have any sausage). My hubby & 10 year old LOVED it. This goes into my recipe box for sure. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENJENJEN09

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
So good!!!! I used chicken broth ( it was on sale ) and used left over ham from thanksgiving , great easy delicious recipe can't wait to try it with sausage , turned out great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Angels Camp, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This was good . Stick with cooking time suggested . I cooked on low for 8 1/2 hrs. , and veggies turned out too mushy .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Ok taste (good base for a pea soup...), but too watery. Not a great consistency. Next time less water and some kind of thickener (and maybe more potato too) would help next time. Also, bacon was mushy. Next time I will use the drippings and crumble the bacon on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I don't know about anyone else; I didn't care for pea soup when I was a kid, but not anymore. What a super idea with the slow cooker. I'm very traditional when it come to the meat in the soup; ham all the way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
My entire family (husband and 3 kids) LOVES this -- winner! Such a good fall/winter recipe. Oh, and easy, easy. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Awesome soup! My husband who doesn't like soups at all ate double portion! I added ham instead of sausage, cook 4.5h on high in 7lb slow cooker. Then, I added a Wondra to make it thicker, 3 fresh rosemary, lots of pepper, and a little bit of basil, and cook for another hour on medium setting. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
tastes great. i didn't have potatoes so i added 1 tbs of corn starch and 1 cup of milk to give it some creaminess. Also, I followed the suggestion of another review who stated 10 cups of water made it too watery. I only used 8 cups and with the corn starch and milk it thickened up a bit. I'll make again and try the potatoes to see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States