Slow Cooker Split Pea Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by pixi
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This soup was very delicious! I made a half-recipe, used vegetable stock instead of water and bouillon and omitted the potato since I didn't have one. Also used turkey kielbasa and a little bit of thyme. I had never had split pea soup before and now I am a convert! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Great Flavor! I also used 8 cups of chx broth instead of bouillon and water, however it was still a bit on the runny side after 6 hours on high in the crockpot. I used a stick blender and it evened out the consistancy. Delicious w beef sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Super easy and super fast! Added one sweet potato, but otherwise followed recipe exactly using a little less chicken stock instead of water because of the size of my crock pot. Big hit in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Wonderful! Ive always had my own recipe for split pea soup and I've always loved it. It just never occurred to me that would be a quicker way to make it and this is just the bomb! just marvelous. I admit i made a couple of changes, but purely because of our tastes - I absolutely HATE bay leaves and I used jarred crushed garlic. Next time I'm using pork ribs in stead of the sausage. and with that - I'll have 3 versions of the best pea soup ever :) thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This soup was great! I had never made split pea soup before, but I was having a craving and had all the ingredients for this recipe already! Following others advice, I used less water. I also added some salt, because I used homemade chicken broth. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. I did make it on the stove, and I was worried for the first hour that maybe it would be very thin, but it began to thicken up and the end result was a delicious, thick, smoky split pea soup. I froze about half of the recipe and it freezes very well. A keeper for my next split pea craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
YUM!! I did 4 cups chicken broth, 4 cups of water, 2 bouillon cubes & threw in an extra potato and used minced garlic instead of powder....so good. I think this will be replacing my old favorite pea soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Really a perfect recipe. I used 8 cups (or whatever fit in my crockpot - probably more like 6) of low sodium chicken broth instead of bouillon and water. I also used sweet potato because we like them more. And it came out thick and perfect. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Simple and amazing! Made it stove top due to time restrictions but my children asked for seconds and my husband asked me to make it again. A new family Fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
This recipe is so simple and the flavor is just wonderful! It's definitely a go-to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Middleburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Excellent just as the recipe is...I made no changes except cut the water to 8 cups because my crock was to small..came out perfect and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 403) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States