Slow Cooker Split Pea Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by pixi
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This soup was very delicious! I made a half-recipe, used vegetable stock instead of water and bouillon and omitted the potato since I didn't have one. Also used turkey kielbasa and a little bit of thyme. I had never had split pea soup before and now I am a convert! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Great Flavor! I also used 8 cups of chx broth instead of bouillon and water, however it was still a bit on the runny side after 6 hours on high in the crockpot. I used a stick blender and it evened out the consistancy. Delicious w beef sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Super easy and super fast! Added one sweet potato, but otherwise followed recipe exactly using a little less chicken stock instead of water because of the size of my crock pot. Big hit in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Wonderful! Ive always had my own recipe for split pea soup and I've always loved it. It just never occurred to me that would be a quicker way to make it and this is just the bomb! just marvelous. I admit i made a couple of changes, but purely because of our tastes - I absolutely HATE bay leaves and I used jarred crushed garlic. Next time I'm using pork ribs in stead of the sausage. and with that - I'll have 3 versions of the best pea soup ever :) thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This soup was great! I had never made split pea soup before, but I was having a craving and had all the ingredients for this recipe already! Following others advice, I used less water. I also added some salt, because I used homemade chicken broth. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. I did make it on the stove, and I was worried for the first hour that maybe it would be very thin, but it began to thicken up and the end result was a delicious, thick, smoky split pea soup. I froze about half of the recipe and it freezes very well. A keeper for my next split pea craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
YUM!! I did 4 cups chicken broth, 4 cups of water, 2 bouillon cubes & threw in an extra potato and used minced garlic instead of powder....so good. I think this will be replacing my old favorite pea soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Really a perfect recipe. I used 8 cups (or whatever fit in my crockpot - probably more like 6) of low sodium chicken broth instead of bouillon and water. I also used sweet potato because we like them more. And it came out thick and perfect. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Simple and amazing! Made it stove top due to time restrictions but my children asked for seconds and my husband asked me to make it again. A new family Fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
This recipe is so simple and the flavor is just wonderful! It's definitely a go-to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Middleburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Excellent just as the recipe is...I made no changes except cut the water to 8 cups because my crock was to small..came out perfect and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States