Slow Cooker Split Pea Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Delicious! I agree with previous reviewers to only use 8 cups of water otherwise this soup will be too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I admit that I was a bit leery to "follow the recipe exactly as presented"....concerned about how much flavor there would be--but this soup is GREAT! OK, I couldn't follow it exactly...mostly due to personal preferences or what I had on hand. I substituted 8 cups of chicken stock for the water and bouillon. Added a few more carrots, celery and tatos as hubby loves his veggies. Substituted 8 minced cloves of garlic for the powder. Used left over ham steak from breakfast plus 1lb of smoked sausage. Sprinkled in a little Mrs. Dashes Southwest Chipolte for some zing. Before serving I removed a few cups of soup (along with some veggies--tried not to take the meat) put it into my vita-mix and pureed; adding back to soup to make it a little smoother and thicker....which once cooled it is thick! Next morning I'm making another batch to send back to school with our son. Imagine I'll be making more tonight for freezing. This soup is fabulous. Plenty of flavor! Thank you Dorothy for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greasergrrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
First split pea soup I've made that tasted good. (It was a curse, not sure why I couldn't do it in a regular soup pot, I just messed it up several times before). Thanks for a quick and easy recipe! We used turkey sausage and broth instead of bullion. This is WELL worth making a day ahead- it only gets better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nymbus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
5 stars. Made exactly as recipe calls for except for the addition of an extra packet of chicken bullion. next time I will cut out 2 cups of water to make it thicker. Even the little kids ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This just did not turn out. I was so disappointed. I did everything as written but used 8 cups chicken broth instead of 10 cups of water and used chopped ham instead of sausage. After 7 hours on high the peas were still hard and the soup was watery. I ended up putting it on low OVERNIGHT and still woke up to hard peas. Then I threw it all in a pot and cooked it on high for a while and the peas finally broke down, but sadly it still did not taste good. I really wanted this to be a good one, I'm sorry for the poor review, but the whole giant pot of soup wasn't edible after a day and a half of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glenwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I used turkey sausage. My kids LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I'm no cook, and everyone who tried this raved about it! I was so worried because it didn't start to look like it should up until the very last hour. It did take about an hour longer than this said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
this soup was really easy to make and really good...it is so much better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Great recipe! I used a leftover Smithfield Ham bone with generous portions of ham left on it and about a cup of cubed ham from the same ham. Incredible flavor! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pooler, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States