Slow Cooker Split Pea Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Very good, tasty and easy to make. I love slow cooker recipes that go together quickly in the morning and this is one of those. The only thing I would change is not putting quite as much water in it. Maybe 6 - 8 cups of water instead of 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Susanville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This is a delicious and easy meal - add another bonus, inexpensive - which is why it deserves a five star review. I've made it using both turkey sausage as well as vegan. I just added some salt and pepper to the vegan version - and the soup was delicious, particularly on the second day. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly and I'm joining the ranks of the few people who gave this a low rating--everything in the soup turned out crunchy, and the broth was without flavor. I pureed the mixture and added salt and pepper...it has gotten better since then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Very good. Made for my mom, boyfriend, and kids. we all loved it. served with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I made this soup exactly by the recipe. It smelled great, but looked a little watery to me. My wife had gotten a submerging blender for Chistmas, so we strained out the bay leaves and meat and let it do it's thing. It turned out thick and consistent. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seldomhome

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eyota, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was easy and tasty. It made A TON though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I made a few changes to this recipe. To cut down on the salt, I used two quarts of low sodium chicken broth instead of the water and chicken bouillon cubes, minced garlic not garlic powder and 1 lb. of the Boston butt my husband smoked over the weekend. I also cooked it on low in the crock pot for 8 hours. This soup was easy to prepare and an outstanding meal on a cold January night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monty's Momma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I made this on the stove and with turkey smoked sausage, and it was healthy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Made with leftover turkey breast instead of sausage, though I'm sure the sausage would be good, too. Very easy and yummy soup that's good for you too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaireemel
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Holy camoley, this soup is the business!!!! I did what the reviewers said and used 8 cups of chicken stock instead of 10 cups water and I went the extra mile and sauteed the mirepoix with veggie oil, seasoning salt and regular Mrs. Dash. The only suggestion would be to add the sausage at the last 30 minutes, maybe hour because it was a little mushy. Made this for the Bears/SeaHawks playoff game and it's been a hit with my friends and the Bears are winning! This is some lucky soup, so I will make this again if the Bears make it to the Super Bowl ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAWineaux

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States