Slow Cooker Split Pea Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
Made this last night in my extra large crock pot. If you follow the recipe exactly it makes a huge amount of soup so be sure to use a big crock pot. Husband loved it! He had three big helpings. Son (9 years old) just thought it was ok but did eat it. I diced the carrots up really small and he didn't even notice them, he hates carrots. When I make this again I will only use 8 cups of water instead of the 10 the recipe calls for. We thought the soup was a little thin and we prefer a thicker version of Split Pea Soup. Otherwise it was very yummy and I will definitely make it again! Diced ham would be good in this soup too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I made this with 16 oz cubed ham instead of sausage. EXCELLENT! I did make a few other changes after reading reviews though. I used 8 cups of chicken broth instead of the 10 cups of water. I also used fresh minced garlic instead of the garlic powder. I only added about half of the peas in the beginning...I was getting nervous around 3 hours because it didn't seem to be cooking at all! But then about a half hour later it was really going and I added the rest of the peas, and it went for a total of about 5 hours on high. So it came out with a nice thick pea mush with some whole pieces too. I was a little nervous about the lack of a lot of "seasonings and spices" here...but trust the recipe and use a good quality pea and meat and the flavors will really come out where they are supposed to! Hubby says best pea soup yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPolencheck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
This was really good. The only changes I made were: 2cans of chicken broth, instead of the bouillon cubes, therefore only 7 cups of water. I also added 1/2 lb or cubed ham and used Cajun sausage to add flavor. SDamare, Slidell,LA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2001
Absolutely the best peas soup I have ever had!!! I used 3/4 lb of italian sausage, and added a few peppers and red skin potatoes with skins. I like the extra fiber. :-) Thank you Dorothy for sharing this with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
My husband and I like to make this recipe in the dead of winter! We like to beef it up a little with some Tabisco and a few other spices. We use chicken broth instead of chicken boullion cubes. That way there is not as much salt. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
My husband was the one wanting a pea soup. He didn't care for this recipe until I put the soup in my blender and pureed it. It has a very good taste, with the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIBOWERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
Yummy! I used turkey smoked sausage to cut the fat and this was really good. It freezes well too - I have it frozen in individual servings and have it for lunch often. Pretty easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
Amazing, even my 9 & 5 year old kids loved this. Husband went back for seconds too!! I used 1lb of sweet Italian sausage squeezed from the casing and fried instead of the smoked sausage. I also used 8 cups of water instead of 10 because I only have a 4qut crock pot. I ended up cooking it on High for about 5 hours and then low another 2 because I forgot about it :) it turned out great anyways and was nice and thick and creamy. Went great with a box of Jiffy cornbread, an effortless meal to walk in the door to! A definite keeper, THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahensnest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
Excellent Recipe! My crock pot could not fit the last cup of water, but it came out superbly tasty and just the right thickness! It was even better the second day! The second time that I made this, I use two smoked hamhocks and it was exquisite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakhurst, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
Very good even though I omitted the carrots, celery and potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States