Slow Cooker Split Pea Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2000
Split pea is one of my favorite soups, so I have tried quite a few different recipes. This one is delicious and will probably be the one I use most often. I did not have sausage on hand, so I used turkey bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2000
Absolutely the best I've had. So flavorful, but my crockpot wasn't large enough so used my Dutch Oven. I put this recipe on Crockpot Board, but a user thought it was too thin. Mine was not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2000
This was great! Just be aware that not all slow cookers are the same, mine took longer - but was worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2000
I won our company's soup contest last week with this recipe. I did not have a chance to eat any of it since it was sold along with other soup entries to raise money for our christmas party. It was the first soup to be sold out. I heard it was terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2000
I halved the recipe for a 2.5 quart cooker, and it came out a little thin for our taste. I thickened it with 2 tablespoons cornstarch, and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2001
Absolutely the best peas soup I have ever had!!! I used 3/4 lb of italian sausage, and added a few peppers and red skin potatoes with skins. I like the extra fiber. :-) Thank you Dorothy for sharing this with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
I just threw this in the crockpot this morning, and my husband loves it. It took a lot longer to cook than the recipe called for (the peas didn't seem to want to soften). But with patience (and lots of garlic added, this is a new favorite after "tweaking".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Horseheads, New York, USA
Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2001
I really enjoyed this recipe. I halved it for my husband and myself. It made about 10 servings for both of us. It is a very good hearty soup, wonderful on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2001
It tases better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2001
I and my 30 dinner guests really enjoyed this soup. I left out the sausage and it was still very flavorful. I had to make a lot, so I cooked it over the stove in a very large pot for 2.5 hours and it turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph Fisher

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 389) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States