Slow Cooker Split Pea Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I really enjoyed this soup. As is I give this a 4 but it does have 5 star potential. I did add a little Goya seasoning salt which did help wake up the broth. Next time I make it (there definitely will be next time :)) I will add the sausage maybe an hour or less before the soup is done because I found the sausage lost a lot of it's flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oneluvrevolution

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Love the soup! It's perfect for a chilly winter day. Though I cooked it on high for five hours and it still wasn't done, so I put it on low overnight. I also put about half the soup in the blender (without the sausage) to give it a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Great Soup! Next time I will use either a cup or two less water or most likely keep it the same and use a bag and a half of peas and two sausages. It was very good and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Meadows, Idaho, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Great! I assembled it in crock pot the night before and stored in the fridge. In the morning, turned it on, and had delicious soup for dinner when I got home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith Allesi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
SOOOO good!! I used smoked turkey sausage to cut back on fat a little. I was ready to use my immersion blender to make it creamy but I didn't need to. It was creamy with chunks of potatoes, the taste of the sausage. WONDERFUL! Great with tuna sandwiches for an end to a busy day and cold evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I guess this is a recipe where the meat is essential. I made it without the sausage and didn't care too much for it. I had to add a lot of spices to combat the blandness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Jad to cook about 2 hours longer than stated, but overall came out great! Not a super big hit in my house, but the jury is still out on that one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weaverville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I typically use 7 cups of liquid (4 cups chicken broth, 3 cups water) to get the thicker consistency that I prefer. If it comes out too thin for your tastes, you can always thicken it up quickly with some instant mashed potatoes flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lithia Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Delicious simple soup. Not much needed so easy on the wallet too. I did but back on the sausage so ready to make another batch in very near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Really great recipe. I gave it 4 stars because I used 8 cups of broth rather than 10 (we like a thicker soup) and I used diced ham instead of the kielbasa since that's all I had. Next time I'm going to sweat the onion and garlic a bit and use kielbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States