Slow Cooker Split Pea Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Very good. I used a 2.5 quart crock pot and halved the recipe but it was overflowing. I substituted ham for the smoked sausage. IT ended up a little too overcooked (all the peas turned to mush) so I would turn down the temp a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zoltman
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
A wonderful recipe! Instead of using sausage, I used a ham bone from the local Honey Baked ham store. I also used five cloves of minced garlic instead of garlic powder. I also added some fresh black pepper. I cooked this on the slow cooker at a low setting for 8 hours. When it was done, the entire first floor had this nice aroma. Then I ate it and thought I died and went to heaven. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoltman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
We liked this a lot, and it tasted even better as leftovers. Had to add more seasonings, but that was an easy fix. I used turkey smoked sausage. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danart920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Just made this soup and it is delicious! My crock pot is a little smaller so I only used 6 cups of water, 3 veggie bouillon cubes, and turkey kilbasa but kept the other proportions (so it would be a little more thicker) and it turned out great. Would definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I made this with bacon ends instead of sausage and it turned out great! Nice and thick :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magnoliakng

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This is the best soup I have had in a very long time! I did use 8 cups of water instead of 10 and it took a lot longer to cook in my slow cooker than directions stated, but oh so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This was really good. I used 8 cups of chicken broth, cooked it with the ham bone and then added ham at the end instead of sausage. The soup was really thick and the peas didn't cook very well so I put it all in the blender and it came out perfect. It was delicious and better that way! Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I love this recipe! Yum Yum! It needs a few changes: Use 7 cups of liquid. I did 4 of chicken broth and 3 water (Thanks to who ever suggested this) I also doubled the garlic and oregano I added salt and pepper to taste I slow cooked for 8 hours. If you cook it like this it is amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I really enjoyed this soup. As is I give this a 4 but it does have 5 star potential. I did add a little Goya seasoning salt which did help wake up the broth. Next time I make it (there definitely will be next time :)) I will add the sausage maybe an hour or less before the soup is done because I found the sausage lost a lot of it's flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oneluvrevolution

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Love the soup! It's perfect for a chilly winter day. Though I cooked it on high for five hours and it still wasn't done, so I put it on low overnight. I also put about half the soup in the blender (without the sausage) to give it a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 389) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States