Slow Cooker Split Pea Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
tastes great. i didn't have potatoes so i added 1 tbs of corn starch and 1 cup of milk to give it some creaminess. Also, I followed the suggestion of another review who stated 10 cups of water made it too watery. I only used 8 cups and with the corn starch and milk it thickened up a bit. I'll make again and try the potatoes to see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I used ham base in place of the chicken broth/bouillon. My incredibly picky boys begrudgingly took a nibble, ate their bowls & went back for seconds. That's worth 10 stars here. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This is the only way I made Split Pea Soup now. Making it in the crockpot is not only easy and economical, but it's healthier than canned because I control what's in it. I don't add meat to the recipe, but my daughter likes to serve hers with bits of cooked ham. I pop my immersion (stick) blender right into the crock pot after it cools a bit, and blend til smooth. Delicious! I also freeze it in single serving containers to enjoy later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Tasted like an authentic split pea soup, but unfortunately was pretty bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
skipped potatoes, used turkey sausage, and 3 whole garlic cloves....set on low cook for 10-11 hours....yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetaria

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I used cooked bacon because I thought I had some sausage in the freezer and I didn't. Turned out tasty. DO NOT add bacon before cooking and not till the end or it will be mushy bacon. To get the good bacon flavor while it cooked I added 3 tablespoons of bacon grease. Once again the texture on this was thinner than I like so I added potato flakes about 30 min before serving and it thickened nicely and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StarHammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
GREAT soup! I left out the celery, used minced garlic and reduced the water to eight cups. After having it for dinner tonight, I decided to puree the soup (except for the sausage) because we prefer a creamier pea soup. We had it with "Sweet Corn Bread" from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Just made this for dinner. I modified it so it could fit in my much smaller crock pot. I also used ham instead. My 4 year old daughter and my parents loved it!! Its worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommacatherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sweet Home, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This is the best split pea soup I have ever made. I used Spicy Italian sausage. In my chopper I chopped on one leek and baby carrots and garlic. I used chicken broth instead of water. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcie Numan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Very nice. I adjusted it a bit bc I didn't have sausage, so I used crumbled bacon instead. No celery either, so I added celery salt and a ham soup base packet that came out of a ham bean mix. I used 1 can of chicken broth and 2 cups of water with a bullion cube (I halved the recipe and left out a cup of water). It turned out a tad salty (I forgot about the salt from the bacon) but still edible, and the peas, if you cook them this way, really thicken the soup and kind of melt into it. I added the bacon later but added all the veggies in at the same time and didn't think they were mushy at all even though I forgot about it and left it on low a lot longer than directed. I thought a half batch of this was great; enough for two big bowls of soup for bf and my dinner and a healthy portion of soup for lunch tomorrow. This is a really hearty soup and was a good dinner with a couple of rolls. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States