Slow Cooker Split Pea Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This was AWESOME! I halved the recipe because there are only two of us. I also used chicken broth rather than going the bouillon route because I happened to have some in the fridge. I actually ate two bowls full of this stuff. Sooooo good!. This brought back great memories of when my dad made erwtensoep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skitzoid Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
has great flavor. hubby say should be thicker as I don't usually eat. but even I liked enough to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Absolutely delicious! Used 6 cups of water instead of 10, and made nice thick hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Too salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I always choose to use ham over sausage since I buy a whole half hog and have plenty of ham. I just take a ham slice and chop it into pieces and put it in. I also choose to, rather than use bouillon, to use broth instead. This time instead of chopping the carrots and celery I just used the food processor and grated them. Husband doesn't like big chunks of veggies so I figure shredded/chopped - doesn't really matter. I never add potatoes to mine but this time I did add half a medium size zucchini so I hope that turns out. I can't see why it won't. If anything it might make it thicker. I always start with adding 7 cups of water and then add more as needed (my broth is concentrated so I use water to dilute). I know I make quite a few changes but, overall, this recipe is great and you can tweak it however you like for your tastes. You even could easily make it vegan or vegetarian by using vegetable broth instead of chicken. I like serving mine with cornbread or garlic toast. It is a wonderful dinner and leftovers on a chilly fall or winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Amazing!!!!! I only used 6 cups of chicken broth per other reviews and that was the perfect amount! I also did not add potatoes. Followed everything else to a tee. It was ready on low in 5 hours. Love the simplicity of throwing this recipe together. And yes, it is mushy but that is how I know all of my split pea soups to be. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
delicious! I put the sausage in just long enough to heat it up, or else it loses its flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I had a hankering for split pea soup and used the above recipe for my crockpot. I had a hamsteak with a bone which I chopped up and used about a cup full in the recipe. I used homemade chicken broth instead of bouillon cubes because I had it on hand. After turning the crockpot off, I took out the bayleaf, and let it cool down and placed in the fridge. The next day I pureed it in the blender. This split pea soup is very very good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEACHSOSH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Wow, I love this soup! I followed the recipe, the only change being that I used ham instead of sausage. When it was done I removed the cubed ham, pureed the soup, then added the ham back in. It had a creamy texture and was just right with salt and spices. I agree with the other reviews that this makes a lot of soup. Mine was filled to the brim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This turned out ok; alot better than canned soup! But I wish I'd read the reviews beforehand. I would have known to add less water. Will keep the recipe though to tweak it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Farmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 404) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States