Slow Cooker Split Pea Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Very yummy though I did make a few tweaks....I used a leftover ham shoulder bone in place of the sausage, omitted the bouillon and potatoes since I didn't have them on hand and used a full teaspoon of oregano. Also reduced the water to 6 cups for a heartier soup. Fantastic and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Came out awesome. Another recipe that my husband loved. I opted to use diced ham instead of sausage and it was wonderful. Great winter comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Cut the broth back to 8 cups and STILL too watery. I didn't expect super thick but this was very thin. Not the split pea soup I was expecting. That said, the taste was very good. I'll probably try it again with 4 cups of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I used the leftover hambone from thanksgiving & added a hamhock for smokey flavor. I also did 4 cups chicken stock & 4 cups water. In the last hour, I added a pound of cubed ham. If you add it in the beginning, it will be the size of a pea .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Best and easiest split pea soup. I grate all the veggies using my cuisinart and use 8 cups broth instead of 10 cups water. Excellent. I have made this countless times and have all my friends making it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This was AWESOME! I halved the recipe because there are only two of us. I also used chicken broth rather than going the bouillon route because I happened to have some in the fridge. I actually ate two bowls full of this stuff. Sooooo good!. This brought back great memories of when my dad made erwtensoep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skitzoid Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
has great flavor. hubby say should be thicker as I don't usually eat. but even I liked enough to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Absolutely delicious! Used 6 cups of water instead of 10, and made nice thick hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Too salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I always choose to use ham over sausage since I buy a whole half hog and have plenty of ham. I just take a ham slice and chop it into pieces and put it in. I also choose to, rather than use bouillon, to use broth instead. This time instead of chopping the carrots and celery I just used the food processor and grated them. Husband doesn't like big chunks of veggies so I figure shredded/chopped - doesn't really matter. I never add potatoes to mine but this time I did add half a medium size zucchini so I hope that turns out. I can't see why it won't. If anything it might make it thicker. I always start with adding 7 cups of water and then add more as needed (my broth is concentrated so I use water to dilute). I know I make quite a few changes but, overall, this recipe is great and you can tweak it however you like for your tastes. You even could easily make it vegan or vegetarian by using vegetable broth instead of chicken. I like serving mine with cornbread or garlic toast. It is a wonderful dinner and leftovers on a chilly fall or winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 389) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States