Slow Cooker Split Pea Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Excellent. I used a Cajun seasoned sausage which added a nice kick, also used 8 cups chicken broth instead of the water/bullion combo. Husband and 10 yr old son gave high ratings on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Are you supposed to soak the dried peas first? I don't see that in the instructions but after 5 hours on high + 3 more on low, the peas are still hard. Does anybody have a suggestion for a fix?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I wanted a recipe that I could use the leftover ham and bone from a spiral cut ham. I cooked the ham and bone first in the crockpot for 4 hours, removed the meat and bone, and added all of the other ingredients, then added the meat back and cooked for another 4-5 hours. So good and even better the following days. Because I used a sweet ham it was not salty at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Loved this recipe! Used sweet Italian turkey sausage, minced garlic instead of powdered, and 8 cups of water instead of 10. This is going to be added to my list of favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the green girl

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Great in winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I made this with a smoked ham shank and even though I halved the recipe (too much for two) I used a full 1lb shank. I also used chicken broth.It came out really well but I have to add that like a lot of soups/stews this comes out better if you wait and reheat the next day (I cooked this on low and added some water since it was getting too thick). Very easy to prep. No need to add any salt (or very little) since the ham gives off a lot of salt naturally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I made this with a smoked turkey drumstick from our local Renaissance Festival instead of the sausage. I pulled a lot of the meat off and put in the frig to add after everything cooked in the crock pot. I put the leg with meat remnants into the crock pot for flavor and removed after about 5 hours then I added the meat from the frig. I was going from memory and forgot the bay leaves and oregano, but added salt and pepper. I used 8 cups of water and a crushed clove of garlic instead of garlic powder. I served this with a loaf of crusty u-bake bread. Fantastic! Brought back memories of my grandma's split pea soup. Perfect for a rainy Sunday after spending Saturday at the Renaissance Festival!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I loved this recipe. I used fresh garlic and about half the bullion cubes and it was perfect for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I used this as a base recipe. Had a late start on dinner so did not soak the beans. Just put them in with a mixture of water, chicken broth and a couple of boullion cubes plus chopped onion. Only started with about 6 cups of liquid but did add more along the way for a total of about 8-9 cups. After about 30 minutes, I added 4 chopped carrots and 32 celery stalks chopped. Also added some oregano, marjoram, pepper. Simmered for another 30 minutes or so adding liquid as needed. This does tend to stick to the bottom of the pan and burn so stir frequently as it thickens up. Added 3 cut up smoked apple/chicken sausages about 10 minutes before finished. Add a splash of sherry to the soup on serving and stir for a little extra flavor. Served with soda bread. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Meh... both my boyfriend and I were craving really great split pea soup. The first time I made this I added some extra spices-big mistake, not required at all. Following the recipe exactly I had a better outcome but I don't like that the soup settles the way it does and feel like it isn't quite what I was looking for. 3 stars for health value and ok taste but nothing to write home about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 398) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States