Slow Cooker Split Pea Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
skipped potatoes, used turkey sausage, and 3 whole garlic cloves....set on low cook for 10-11 hours....yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetaria

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I used cooked bacon because I thought I had some sausage in the freezer and I didn't. Turned out tasty. DO NOT add bacon before cooking and not till the end or it will be mushy bacon. To get the good bacon flavor while it cooked I added 3 tablespoons of bacon grease. Once again the texture on this was thinner than I like so I added potato flakes about 30 min before serving and it thickened nicely and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StarHammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
GREAT soup! I left out the celery, used minced garlic and reduced the water to eight cups. After having it for dinner tonight, I decided to puree the soup (except for the sausage) because we prefer a creamier pea soup. We had it with "Sweet Corn Bread" from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Just made this for dinner. I modified it so it could fit in my much smaller crock pot. I also used ham instead. My 4 year old daughter and my parents loved it!! Its worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommacatherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sweet Home, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This is the best split pea soup I have ever made. I used Spicy Italian sausage. In my chopper I chopped on one leek and baby carrots and garlic. I used chicken broth instead of water. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARCIEN007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Very nice. I adjusted it a bit bc I didn't have sausage, so I used crumbled bacon instead. No celery either, so I added celery salt and a ham soup base packet that came out of a ham bean mix. I used 1 can of chicken broth and 2 cups of water with a bullion cube (I halved the recipe and left out a cup of water). It turned out a tad salty (I forgot about the salt from the bacon) but still edible, and the peas, if you cook them this way, really thicken the soup and kind of melt into it. I added the bacon later but added all the veggies in at the same time and didn't think they were mushy at all even though I forgot about it and left it on low a lot longer than directed. I thought a half batch of this was great; enough for two big bowls of soup for bf and my dinner and a healthy portion of soup for lunch tomorrow. This is a really hearty soup and was a good dinner with a couple of rolls. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I changed the recipe a bit. Left out bullion, celery, orgeano, bay leaves. 1 tsp each of garlic powder, onion powder, Mrs Dash, salt, 1/2 tsp black pepper. Going to put the potatos, onions, carrots, in the blender next time, easier cleanup and faster. Used Kielbasa, and this was possibly the best pea soup I have ever tasted. I don't find that broth or bouillilon add to the flavor of anything I cook, so started leaving them out and find the flavor improved on everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Doubled garlic and used fresh, used ham w/ ham bone. Added pepper. 8 cups of water, No sausage. Great, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I didn't care for this at all. It turned out like a big thick flavorless glob of smooshed peas and potatoes. I probably cooked it too long, but I cooked it for less time than what was recommended. I'm not sure I would try this again without some adjustments. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Very nice. I only used 4 boulion cubes and found it was flavourful and still satly enough. I would sugest to make sure your potatoes are choped small as they should become the thickness. Your sausage is the most important part of the soup as it give off the most flavour. So choose wisely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Dogg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 389) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States