Slow Cooker Split Pea Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Used a Ham bone from xmas ham. Used 8 cups of chicken broth and 2 cups of water. Celery, carrot, onion, 1 bay leaf and pepper. OMG tastes fantastic!! Very thin hopefully it will thicken upon chillin.... Will def use this again. Must be the best soup I have made... Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRICKS2721

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Very yummy though I did make a few tweaks....I used a leftover ham shoulder bone in place of the sausage, omitted the bouillon and potatoes since I didn't have them on hand and used a full teaspoon of oregano. Also reduced the water to 6 cups for a heartier soup. Fantastic and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Came out awesome. Another recipe that my husband loved. I opted to use diced ham instead of sausage and it was wonderful. Great winter comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Cut the broth back to 8 cups and STILL too watery. I didn't expect super thick but this was very thin. Not the split pea soup I was expecting. That said, the taste was very good. I'll probably try it again with 4 cups of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I used the leftover hambone from thanksgiving & added a hamhock for smokey flavor. I also did 4 cups chicken stock & 4 cups water. In the last hour, I added a pound of cubed ham. If you add it in the beginning, it will be the size of a pea .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Best and easiest split pea soup. I grate all the veggies using my cuisinart and use 8 cups broth instead of 10 cups water. Excellent. I have made this countless times and have all my friends making it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This was AWESOME! I halved the recipe because there are only two of us. I also used chicken broth rather than going the bouillon route because I happened to have some in the fridge. I actually ate two bowls full of this stuff. Sooooo good!. This brought back great memories of when my dad made erwtensoep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skitzoid Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
has great flavor. hubby say should be thicker as I don't usually eat. but even I liked enough to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Absolutely delicious! Used 6 cups of water instead of 10, and made nice thick hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Too salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States