Slow Cooker Split Pea Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Very good crock pot split pea soup! Changes I made were using 8C. chicken broth instead of 10C. water & bouillon cubes. I used turkey kiebasa & did add more spices! Fresh pressed garlic, savory, parsley, pepper, & a touch of cayenne were a few additions I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This soup was disappointingly bland. I had made 2 changes - 8 cups of chicken broth an used smoked ham instead. I doubt if I haven't made changes the result would have been any better. I had to add a lot of spice after to make it even worth eating... I love split pea soup but just not this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Easy to make and boyfriend approved! I used chorizo instead of smoked sausage or ham. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kawin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Used a Ham bone from xmas ham. Used 8 cups of chicken broth and 2 cups of water. Celery, carrot, onion, 1 bay leaf and pepper. OMG tastes fantastic!! Very thin hopefully it will thicken upon chillin.... Will def use this again. Must be the best soup I have made... Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRICKS2721
Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Very yummy though I did make a few tweaks....I used a leftover ham shoulder bone in place of the sausage, omitted the bouillon and potatoes since I didn't have them on hand and used a full teaspoon of oregano. Also reduced the water to 6 cups for a heartier soup. Fantastic and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Came out awesome. Another recipe that my husband loved. I opted to use diced ham instead of sausage and it was wonderful. Great winter comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Cut the broth back to 8 cups and STILL too watery. I didn't expect super thick but this was very thin. Not the split pea soup I was expecting. That said, the taste was very good. I'll probably try it again with 4 cups of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I used the leftover hambone from thanksgiving & added a hamhock for smokey flavor. I also did 4 cups chicken stock & 4 cups water. In the last hour, I added a pound of cubed ham. If you add it in the beginning, it will be the size of a pea .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Best and easiest split pea soup. I grate all the veggies using my cuisinart and use 8 cups broth instead of 10 cups water. Excellent. I have made this countless times and have all my friends making it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This was AWESOME! I halved the recipe because there are only two of us. I also used chicken broth rather than going the bouillon route because I happened to have some in the fridge. I actually ate two bowls full of this stuff. Sooooo good!. This brought back great memories of when my dad made erwtensoep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skitzoid Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States