Slow Cooker Split Pea Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I really liked the potatoes in the soup. I used the chicken broth as others suggested and cooked it on low instead of high since I have a job to go to all day. I spaced on the sausage but it was still good without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Yummy. Yummy. Yummy. Everyone that tried it loved it. I will make again! I followed what someone else suggested. I used 8 cups chicken broth instead of the water. No boullion cubes. I used minced garlic instead of powder. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I thought the 5 hours was too long to cook it. By that time the peas had practically disappeared and the vegetables were very soft. Won't try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Five stars for this one. Ummm Ummm tasty! What I did was add sweet potatoes instead of white potatoes and smoked ham instead of sausage. And I used home made chicken broth along with salt and fresh pepper to taste. My lady love it and thats what I'm taking about eh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This turned out wonderfully! Used leftover ham instead of the sausage, 8 cups of water as suggested in previous reviews with two large boullion cubes quartered and substituted oregano (none on hand) with italian seasoning. Tossed in some peppercorns as well. Set on low for 8 hours in the crock and came home to dinner..Thank you for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caranam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburg, California, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
good, but not noteworthy. Might want to add some marjoram and/or thyme. Try ALL chicken broth, instead of water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Hearty, yummy soup. A comfort food dish for sure. After reading reviews I also substituted 8 cups of chicken broth (2 big boxes) in place of the water and chicken bouillon cubes. I used white potatoes and 1/2 tsp of Italian seasoning (instead of just oregano) and I added 1/2 tsp of black pepper. I also used 1lb of a bone-in ham slice that I found in my farmers market, chopped it up & put the bone in as well for extra flavor. Cooked on high for 6 hours, came out perfectly delicious!! Will definitely be making this one over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This was good! I used boxed chicken broth instead of boullion and water. The peas didn't hold their shape which made it a thick soup but the flavor was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I made this with beef smoked sausage, 3 cups of chicken broth, and 6 cups of water-and it was WAY too much liquid. It also didn't have any flavor! I cooked it longer to try to boil out the liquid and it ended up making the peas disappear-so we were eating pea-colored watery soup with no flavor. I was really disappointed, but my husband and mom liked it as is for some reason. I liked how easy the recipe was, but if I try it again, I'll use less liquids, less potato, and add some extra spices-or even just salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This soup was so good! I used 8 cups chicken broth, rather than 10 of water & bouillon. I skipped the celery and used ham hocks rather than sausage. Used 2 cloves fresh minced garlic rather than the garlic powder. Also used 1/2 tsp thyme rather than oregano. Used pepper to taste. No salt was needed. I guess I made more changes than I realized, but this recipe was a great starting point. I served the soup with garlic croutons. Delicious! Thanks for sharing. A nice easy meal for a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginniej

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Somers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States