Slow Cooker Split Pea Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
5 stars. Made exactly as recipe calls for except for the addition of an extra packet of chicken bullion. next time I will cut out 2 cups of water to make it thicker. Even the little kids ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This just did not turn out. I was so disappointed. I did everything as written but used 8 cups chicken broth instead of 10 cups of water and used chopped ham instead of sausage. After 7 hours on high the peas were still hard and the soup was watery. I ended up putting it on low OVERNIGHT and still woke up to hard peas. Then I threw it all in a pot and cooked it on high for a while and the peas finally broke down, but sadly it still did not taste good. I really wanted this to be a good one, I'm sorry for the poor review, but the whole giant pot of soup wasn't edible after a day and a half of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glenwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I used turkey sausage. My kids LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I'm no cook, and everyone who tried this raved about it! I was so worried because it didn't start to look like it should up until the very last hour. It did take about an hour longer than this said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
this soup was really easy to make and really good...it is so much better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Great recipe! I used a leftover Smithfield Ham bone with generous portions of ham left on it and about a cup of cubed ham from the same ham. Incredible flavor! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pooler, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pixi
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This soup was very delicious! I made a half-recipe, used vegetable stock instead of water and bouillon and omitted the potato since I didn't have one. Also used turkey kielbasa and a little bit of thyme. I had never had split pea soup before and now I am a convert! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Great Flavor! I also used 8 cups of chx broth instead of bouillon and water, however it was still a bit on the runny side after 6 hours on high in the crockpot. I used a stick blender and it evened out the consistancy. Delicious w beef sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Super easy and super fast! Added one sweet potato, but otherwise followed recipe exactly using a little less chicken stock instead of water because of the size of my crock pot. Big hit in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Wonderful! Ive always had my own recipe for split pea soup and I've always loved it. It just never occurred to me that would be a quicker way to make it and this is just the bomb! just marvelous. I admit i made a couple of changes, but purely because of our tastes - I absolutely HATE bay leaves and I used jarred crushed garlic. Next time I'm using pork ribs in stead of the sausage. and with that - I'll have 3 versions of the best pea soup ever :) thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 389) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States