Slow Cooker Split Pea Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Very Good, but if you like a thick Pea Soup, cut water by 1-2 cups. However, soup will thicken slightly by the next day even if made as written. I used ham instead of smoked sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L.T.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
wow! A friend mentioned making split pea soup and I came to the realization I'd never tried it. And that was only because I thought it kind of looked gross. I thought it was time I tried it. I had a bunch of smoked sausage in the fridge so I chose this recipe. I'm glad I did. It was so flavorful! My whole family enjoyed it. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iuka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Very tasty and easy to make. I will need a bigger slow cooker for sure. I plan on making this in the future in a dutch oven for camping. Perfect for Fall camping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I got raised eybrows from people who were expecting ham instead of sausage but its the same animal - right?? I used brats that I had gotten on sale. It turned out great and honestly would be even better with the ham which I will try next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Living Well

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I made this for the first time yesterday and while not bad, it was not great. I used 9 cups of water. I would make this again but I would definitely change some things, for example, more bouillon and more spices. The broth was SO bland! The peas were fine after 5 hours but everything else was too mushy, so I would add the smoked sausage and vegetables only after the split peas cooked for 2 hours. With a little tweaking, this could be a wonderful fall/winter soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Delicious! I agree with previous reviewers to only use 8 cups of water otherwise this soup will be too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I admit that I was a bit leery to "follow the recipe exactly as presented"....concerned about how much flavor there would be--but this soup is GREAT! OK, I couldn't follow it exactly...mostly due to personal preferences or what I had on hand. I substituted 8 cups of chicken stock for the water and bouillon. Added a few more carrots, celery and tatos as hubby loves his veggies. Substituted 8 minced cloves of garlic for the powder. Used left over ham steak from breakfast plus 1lb of smoked sausage. Sprinkled in a little Mrs. Dashes Southwest Chipolte for some zing. Before serving I removed a few cups of soup (along with some veggies--tried not to take the meat) put it into my vita-mix and pureed; adding back to soup to make it a little smoother and thicker....which once cooled it is thick! Next morning I'm making another batch to send back to school with our son. Imagine I'll be making more tonight for freezing. This soup is fabulous. Plenty of flavor! Thank you Dorothy for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greasergrrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
First split pea soup I've made that tasted good. (It was a curse, not sure why I couldn't do it in a regular soup pot, I just messed it up several times before). Thanks for a quick and easy recipe! We used turkey sausage and broth instead of bullion. This is WELL worth making a day ahead- it only gets better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nymbus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
5 stars. Made exactly as recipe calls for except for the addition of an extra packet of chicken bullion. next time I will cut out 2 cups of water to make it thicker. Even the little kids ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 111-120 (of 389) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States